Hide
Brixton
hide
Hide
hide
- Almanacs◬
- Archives & Libraries◬
- Bibliography◬
- Biography
- Business & Commerce Records◬
- Cemeteries
- Census◬
- Chronology◬
- Church History
- Church Records
- Churches
- Civil Registration◬
- Correctional Institutions◬
- Court Records◬
- Description & Travel
- Directories
- Emigration & Immigration◬
- Encyclopaedias & Dictionaries◬
- Folklore◬
- Gazetteers
- Genealogy
- Handwriting◬
- Heraldry◬
- Historical Geography◬
Hide
Click on map to view parish boundaries in detail.
Hide
Hide
hide
- History
- Jewish History◬
- Land & Property◬
- Language & Languages◬
- Manors◬
- Maps
- Medical Records◬
- Merchant Marine◬
- Military History◬
- Names, Geographical◬
- Names, Personal◬
- Newspapers◬
- Occupations
- Periodicals◬
- Politics & Government◬
- Poor Houses, Poor Law◬
- Population◬
- Probate Records◬
- Schools◬
- Social Life & Customs◬
- Societies◬
- Taxation◬
- Voting Registers◬
Hide
"BRIXTON, a pleasant village, 4½ miles E. of Plymouth, has in its parish 822 souls, and 2865 acres of fertile land, bounded on the south-east by the Yealm estuary, and including the small hamlets of Spriddleston, Hareston, Winston, and Coombe. The manor of Brixton, anciently called Britricheston, was long held by a family of its own name, but was dismembered many years ago. T.W. Parrott, Esq., is lord of the manor of Hareston, which he derived from the Winters. This manor was successively held by the Reynald, Hareston, Silverlock, and Wood families. . . . Mr. Elliott is lord of the manor of Spriddleston, which has been held successively by the Spriddle, Fortescue, Lane, and other families. E.R.P. Bastard and Sir T.T.F.E. Drake own a great part of the parish, the former having Wollaton, and the latter the Sherford estate. The Church has a lofty tower and five bells, and is an ancient structure in the decorated style. . . ." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]
A parish in Plympton Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes, and the Diocese of Exeter. Regarded as part of the South Hams area.
Hide
Williams, Daphne L. and Ann Evans. Kept in Memory. Brixton (1997). [Biog. notes on those listed on the War Memorial - available from, Mrs E A Evans (Ann), 49 Staddon Park Road, Plymstock, Plymouth, Devon, PL9 9HL]
MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.
A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions for the Church of St Mary is held in the Society of Genealogist's Library, in Vol. 8 of Devon Memorial inscriptions (DE/M23).
Jewers. Arthur J. Brixton Church. Western Antiquary 10, 3-4 (1890) pp.27-29, 59-64, 96-101.
| St Mary, Brixton, Church of England |
St Mary's Church Brixton, by Graham Naylor.
Wilson, Francis Rought. The History of St Mary's Church, Brixton, South Devon. London: SPCK (1926) 53p,plates: ill.
Parish Registers going back to 1668 are held in the Devon Record Office.
The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1828 - for details see their Devon Parish List.
Nothing entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993).
An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the Deanery of Plympton. with photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850 and The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868), CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2007). [Brixton: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Cornwood: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1838), Ermington: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1838), Bur (1813-1837 ), Harford: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1755-1837), Bur (1813-1838), Holbeton: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Ivybridge: Bapt (1835-1840), Mar (1835-1840), Bur (1836-1840), Kingston: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1836), Bur (1813-1837), Modbury: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Newton Ferrers: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1836), Bur (1813-1837)), North Huish: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Plympton St. Mary: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Plympton St. Maurice: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Plymstock: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Revelstoke: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Shaugh Prior: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1835), Ugborough: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1841), Bur (1813-1837), Wembury: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1612-1837), Bur (1813-1840), Yealmpton: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837)]
Section on Brixton from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.
Transcription of the entry in White's Devonshire Directory (1850) by Terry Partridge.
Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.
The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Brixton to another place.
The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Samantha Tucker, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Listing of Resources.)
Coffin, Allen. The life of Tristram Coffin of Nantucket, Mass. Founder of the family line in America.. Nantucket: Hussey & Robinson, (1881) 64 pp. [Index]
Mugford, W.E. Tristram Coffin of Brixton, Devon, Devon Notes and Queries 2, 1902-3, pp. 142-4. [17th c. pedigree.] [Index]
Prideaux, F.B. An ancient Fulford deed. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 12:7, (1923) pp.299. [Refers to vol.12, p.113.] [Sprydel Family]
Clamp, Arthur L. Some bygone scenes of Brixton & its people. Plymouth: P D S Printers (1990) 32p: ill,maps.
Lane, Richard. A history of the parish of Brixton. MSS. (1880?) 274p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/BRI 9/0001/LAN]
Rowe, J. Brooking. Brixton: extracts from deeds, parish registers, pedigrees etc. Manuscript (1875?) 1 vol. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/BRI 9/0001/ROW
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SX553522 (Lat/Lon: 50.351884, -4.035314), Brixton which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.