Hide

Churchstanton

hide
Hide

"CHURCH-STANTON, or Church-Staunton, a scattered village, on an eminence near the Black Down Hills, and the borders of Somersetshire, and the sources of the river Culm, 10 miles N. by E. of Honiton, and 8 miles S. of Taunton, has in its parish 1086 inhabitants, and 4980 acres of freehold land. The village is in four portions called Churchinford, Stapley, Red Lane, and Burnworthy. . . . Messrs. Bush are lords of the manor, but the greater part of the soil belongs to Wm. Beadon, Jun., Esq., Capt. White, the Earl of Devon, Mr. Richd. Blackmore, Mr. Henry Smith, and several smaller freeholders. Roystone House is the pleasant seat of Capt. John White. The manor anciently belonged to the Tudenham family, and afterwards to the Damarell, Bonville, Clifton, Clarke, Popham and Southwood families. . . . The Church (St. Paul,) is a fine Gothic structure, with a tower and five bells. . . . In the parish are two chapels, belonging to the Baptists and the Wesleyans. . . ." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

Churchstanton transferred from Devon to Somerset and from the diocese of Exeter to that of Bath & Wells in 1896.

Hide
topup

Archives & Libraries

topup

Church History

Notes on the Parish Church od St Peter and St Paul, Churchstanton. [SoG Library: Devon Tracts Box]

topup

Church Records

No parish registers at the Devon Record Office (as of June 1997.)

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Nothing entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993).

Transcriptions from the records of Churchstanton, St Peter & St Paul provided by Roy Parkhouse.

The Deanery of Dunkeswell, CD012, Devon Family History Society, Exeter (2007). [Contains indexes: Awliscombe - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837; Churchstanton - Baptisms 1813-1837, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1839; Clayhidon - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837; Combe Raleigh - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837; Dunkeswell - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1800-1837; Hemyock - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1635-1837, Burials 1813-1837; Luppitt - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1838, Burials 1813-1837; Sheldon - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1755-1836, Burials 1770-1837; Upottery - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837; Yarcombe - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837.]

topup

Description & Travel

Section on Churchstanton from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Taylor, Anthony. Culm Valley Album, Bradninch, A. Taylor (1987) 191 pp. [Westcountry Studies Library xB/CUL 1/1880/TAY]

You can see pictures of Churchstanton which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Churchstanton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Thorne, Robert Linham. The history of the Culme valley and its villages: Hemyock, Culmstock, Clayhidon, Dunkeswell, Churchstanton, Uffculme, Wellington, R.L. Thorne (1951) 26 pp. [Westcountry Studies Library DEV/0001/THO]

View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference ST195145 (Lat/Lon: 50.924318, -3.146712), Churchstanton which are provided by:

topup

Names, Personal

Churchstanton contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law

Cullompton Register of Bastardy Applications 1850-1859, Exeter, Devon FHS (2004). [Includes parishes of Burlescombe, Churchstanton, Cullompton, Halberton, Kentisbeare, Silverton, Thorverton and Uffculme.] [Foreword] [Names included in the overall index published as "Rich man, poor man, beggar man, thief" (CD 023).

topup

Population

Recorded at the end of the baptisms for 1821 (Somerset Record Office fiche reference M861/1 D/P/chu 2/1/7):

"Be it remembered that on the 20th day of May 1821 there were in this parish 177 houses inhabited by 419(?) children(?) and 243 males and 193 females making in the whole 862."

topup

Probate Records

Orme, Nicholas. Three Early Devon Wills. In Devon Documents (ed. T. Gray). Tiverton: Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries, Special Issue (1996) [ISBN 0925836203] pp.136-141.