Hide
Clannaborough
hide
Hide
hide
- Almanacs◬
- Archives & Libraries◬
- Bibliography◬
- Biography◬
- Business & Commerce Records◬
- Cemeteries
- Census
- Chronology◬
- Church History◬
- Church Records
- Churches
- Civil Registration◬
- Correctional Institutions◬
- Court Records◬
- Description & Travel
- Directories◬
- Emigration & Immigration◬
- Encyclopaedias & Dictionaries◬
- Folklore◬
- Gazetteers
- Genealogy
- Handwriting◬
- Heraldry◬
- Historical Geography◬
Hide
Click on map to view parish boundaries in detail.
Hide
Hide
hide
- History
- Jewish History◬
- Land & Property◬
- Language & Languages◬
- Manors◬
- Maps
- Medical Records◬
- Merchant Marine◬
- Military History◬
- Names, Geographical◬
- Names, Personal
- Newspapers◬
- Occupations◬
- Periodicals◬
- Politics & Government◬
- Poor Houses, Poor Law◬
- Population◬
- Probate Records
- Schools◬
- Social Life & Customs◬
- Societies◬
- Taxation◬
- Voting Registers◬
Hide
"CLANABOROUGH, 5 miles W.N.W. of Crediton, is a small parish, containing only 69 souls, and 800 acres of land, belonging to W. and S. Wreford, J. Sillifant, Esq., and a few smaller owners. The Church (St. Petrock,) is a small antique structure, with a tower and three bells. The rectory, valued in K.B. at £5. 17s. 3½d., and in 1831 at £171, is in the patronage of the Lord Chancellor, and incumbency of the Rev. Peter Glubb, of Little Torrington. The glebe is 50A., and the tithes were commuted in 1839 for £95 per annum. Directory: Rev. H.A. Hughes, curate; Wm. Wreford, Esq., Barton; and John Gibbins and Thos. Stone, farmers." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]
A parish in North Tawton Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.
Hide
MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.
Clannaborough, St Petrock, Memorial Inscriptions Index. G.M. Project. C.C.C. Community Programme (1986). [SoG Library DE/M17]
Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler. [Covers 1881 census records for this parish]
Parish Registers going back to 1696 are held in the Devon Record Office.
Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1696 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.
The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1697-1812 - for details see their Devon Parish List.
Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1696-1849 and Marriages 1696-1844.
Listing of the Rectors of the Parish of St Petrock, Clannaborough, provided by John Williams
An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Bondleigh, Bow, Brushford, Burrington, Chawleigh, Chulmleigh, Clannaborough, Coleridge, Eggesford, Lapford, North Tawton, Nymet Rowland, Wembworthy and Zeal Monachorum. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850). CD-ROM 063, Exeter, Devon FHS (2014). [Bondleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Bow Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Brushford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Burrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Chawleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Chulmleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Clannaborough Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1759-1834, Bur: 1697-1836; Coleridge Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Eggesford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1750-1838; Lapford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1567-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; North Tawton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Nymet Rowland Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1756-1836, Bur: 1734-1879; Wembworthy Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1733-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Zeal Monachorum Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837]
Section on Clannaborough from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie
Shirley Turner has provided a brief description and photograph (archived copy) of the village.
The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Clannaborough to another place.
The Online Parish Clerk for this parish is Neville Enderson, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: Bap. 1696-1993; bur. 1697-1997; marr. 1696-1992; Censuses 1841-1901.)
Wreford, G. Pedigree and Sketch of the Wreford Family of Clannaborough and Morchard Bishop, Devonshire. London: G.Wreford (1888) 44p,7 pedigree charts [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.2/WRE]
Wreford, G. Records and Pedigree of the Wreford Family of Devonshire, 2nd ed. Privately printed (1909) [Westcountry Studies Library - x929.2/WRE]
Williams, H. Fulford. Notes on the Parish of Clannaborough, Devon. Typescript (1962) 6 leaves. [Westcountry Studies Library]
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SS747025 (Lat/Lon: 50.808463, -3.779735), Clannaborough which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Clannaborough contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.
Summaries of the wills of William Wreford (1683) and William Wreford (1771) provided by John Moore.
Will of the Reverend Freeman Freke (1809), provided by Ros Dunning.