Clovelly Entries in Bideford Coastal Port Books (1565-1745)

Extracted from the National Archive E 190 Records

In an effort to supplement the limited amount of documentary material about 16th - 18th Century Clovelly (many of whose village records, other than the parish registers, were lost in a fire in 1789) I have systematically searched the Port Books (now held by the PRO) relating to the near-by Port of Bideford looking for entries relating to Clovelly-based ships involved in coastal trading. Quoting from C.T. & M.J. Watts' book My Ancestor was a Merchant Seaman: How can I find out more about him (Society of Genealogists, 1991):

"Since the time of Edward I (1272) central government has exerted a measure of control over shipping for tax purposes. The records that resulted from this include Receipts of duty paid on import and export, Information on the examination of cargoes in the coasting trade and the Issuing of bonds for unloading in ports of the realm. These documents normally mention the Merchants involved and the name of the Master of the ship. Typically the information they will contain will be Name of ship, and its Master, Description of goods, Duty paid (if import or export) and Places to/from which shipment is made."

Bideford was until 1708 regarded as part of the Port of Barnstaple. The earliest extant coastal port book for Barnstaple is dated 1565. In the early Barnstaple port books it is not easy to distinguish entries which relate specifically to Bideford. However from about 1680 the Bideford entries are often given separately - in general where this is done I have confined my checks to such separate entries. The earlier entries I have recorded might therefore relate to Barnstaple proper rather than Bideford. By no means all Port Books systematically included an indication of the home port of each ship. In general I have only recorded entries in which the ship is specifically described as "of Clovelly"; but where from the master's and the ship's name it was evident to me that the ship was one that elsewhere had been described as being of Clovelly, I have included such entries (but marked them with an asterisk). All the extant Barnstaple Coastal Port Books (up to the time that Bideford became independent), and all the Bideford Port books in the PRO are listed including those in which no Clovelly-related items were found - each covers a half or a full year, usually starting at Midsummer or at Christmas.

Details of the entries I have found are listed below, in what is better regarded as an index to this information in the port books, rather than a transcription, although I have attempted to record names (of masters and of ships) exactly as given, except that for convenience I have used upper case for ships' names. (I have not in general attempted to transcribe the full details of ships' cargos, or the dates which are sometimes given of ships' voyages - the date recorded is that of the port book entry.) Though I have attempted to produce a reasonably accurate and complete index, I have not gone back and checked this index against the port books, leave alone prepared the index in duplicate and checked the results against each other - thus readers who are interested in particular entries, as opposed to the general picture of trade provided by the entries as a whole, are advised to check the relevant actual port book entries for themselves.

Barnstaple: Easter 1565 - Michaelmas 1565, E190 925/9

No Clovelly items found

Barnstaple: Michaelmas 1604 - Easter 1605, E190 939/5

No Clovelly items found

Barnstaple: Easter 1605 - Xmas 1605, E190 939/8

No Clovelly items found

Barnstaple: Xmas 1610 - Xmas 1611, E190 940/7

No Clovelly items found

Barnstaple: 1614 Xmas - Xmas 1615, E190 942/10

Giles Redmore, TRINITIE from Bristol, 21 May 1615

Barnstaple: Xmas 1616 - Xmas 1617, E190 943/16

Johannes Gemynye?, JOHN from Bristol, 31 May 1617

Barnstaple: Xmas 1631 - Xmas 1632, E190 948/12

Johannes Tasker?, TURNERBELL? for Padstow, 17 Feb 1632

Barnstaple: Xmas 1633 - Xmas 1634, E190 949/5

No Clovelly items found

Barnstaple: Xmas 1636 - Xmas 1637, E190 950/3

William George?, AMYS, w. oats, 6 Nov 1637
Andrew Pollard, ???, w. oats, 1637

Barnstaple: MidS 1654MidS 1654 - MidS 1655, E190 953/1

Peter Skinner, WILLIAM for St Ives, w. earthenware, 26 Jul 1654
Henry Mumford, WILLIAM for St Ives, w. salt, 7 Mar 1655

Barnstaple: Xmas 1660 - Xmas 1661, E190 953/3

Robert Hodge, AGNES for Padstow, w. earthenware, iron, 8 Feb 1661
George Somer, WM for Ilfordcombe, w. earthenware, iron, 20 Feb 1661
Michaell Randell, GRACE for Padstow, w. earthenware, 4 May 1661
Robert Hodge, AGNIS for Padstow, w. earthenware, salt, 18 Jun 1661
Michaell Randell, AGNIS for Bude, w. spanish iron, salt, earthenware, 17 Aug 1661
Robert Hodge, AGNIS for Padstow?, w. earthenware, salt, 14 Sep 1661

Barnstaple: Xmas 1661 - Xmas 1662, E190 953/5

Robert Hodge, AGNES for Padstow, w. salt, iron, earthenware, 7 Mar 1662
Robert Hodge, AGNES for Padstow, w. iron, earthenware, 27 Jun 1662
James Randell, BLESSING from Brystoll, w. cottons, 19 Jul 1662
Robert Hodge, AGNES for Padstow, w. grinding stones, earthenware, 5 Aug 1662
ffrancis Randell, LAMB for Padstow, w. earthenware, salt, 12 Sep 1662
Barnstaple: Xmas 1669 - Xmas 1670, E190 954/15
Andrew Bass, GUIFT for Padstow, w. earthenware, grinding stones, 11 Feb 1670
ffrancis Randle, LAMB for Padstow, w. earthenware, 26 Feb 1670
James Rendell?, BLESSING for Bude, w. salt, earthenware, 22 Jul 1670

Barnstaple: Xmas 1670 - Xmas 1671, E190 954/18

ffrancis Randle, LAMB for Padstow, w. earthenware, grinding stones, 4 Feb 1671
Peter Skinner, FORTUNE for Padstow, w. earthenware, etc., 28 Feb 1671
James Randell, BLESSING for Clovelly, w. salt, 29 Jul 1671

Barnstaple: Xmas 1671 - Xmas 1672, E190 955/3

Andrew Baston, GUIST? from Padstow w. salt, etc., 12 Apr 1671
Edw. Chappleman, LAMB from Padstow w. pottery clay, 30 Aug 1671

Barnstaple: Xmas 1672 - Xmas 1673, E190 955/9

Mich. Randell, ELIZABETH for Bude from Appledore, w. salt, earthenware, oyle, sugar; Bideford; 13 Mar 1673*

Barnstaple: Xmas 1673 - Xmas 1674, E190 955/15

No Clovelly items found

Barnstaple: Xmas 1675 - Xmas 1676, E190 956/8

James Randle, BLESSING for Dartmouth, w. herrings, 15 Jan 1676
Andrew Basse, GUIFT for Padstow, w. iron, earthenware, 24 Feb 1676
Michaell Randle, ELIZABETH for Barnstaple, w. culme, 5 Apr 1676
John Rudmore, ENDEAVOUR for Padstow, w. salt, iron, wine, earthenware, 17 Apr 1676
Edward Chappelman, LAMB for Padstow w. earthenware, 3 May 1676
Henry Chappelman, LAMB for Bude, w. salt, 27 Jun 1676

Barnstaple: Xmas 1676 - Xmas 1677, E190 956/11

Baptist Pocket, BEGINNING for Plymouth, w. coal, butter, mutton, tallow, pitch, 5 Feb 1677
Andrew Basse, GUIFT for Padstow, w. iron, oyle, white sugar, porto wine, earthenware, etc., 7 Mar 1677
Andrew Basse, GUIFT for Padstow, w. iron, salt, pitch, earthenware, sugar, 24 Sep 1677

Barnstaple: Xmas 1677 - Xmas 1678, E190 957/2 (Largely illegible)

Geo. Hollett, DOVE, for Falmouth, 6 Jul 1678
James Clevedon, ADVENTURE, 29 Aug 1678

Barnstaple: Xmas 1678 - Xmas 1679, E190 957/13

James Randell, BLESSING for Padstow, w. 20 doz earthenw., 3 Feb 1678
Henry Chappelman, ENDEAVOUR for Padstow, w. deals, earthenware, iron, sugar, port wine, Spansh wine, 5 Mar 1678
James Burden, ADVENTURE from Penrin, w. French salt, 15 Apr 1678
John Redmore, KATHERIN for Palmouth, w. earthenware, 7 Jun 1678
Henry Chapelman, ENDEAVOUR for Padstow, w. deals, hides, 7 Jun 1678
John Redmore, KATHERIN from Plymo, w. hemp, 25 Aug 1678
Edward Chapelman, LAMB from Plymouth, w. hemp, 29 Aug 1678
Robert Pollard, ELIZABETH for Padstow, w. Portugal salt, deals, earthenware, 9 Sep 1678
John Redmore, KATHERIN from Plymo, w. hemp, 24 Sep 1678

Barnstaple: Xmas 1679 - Xmas 1680, E190 958/10

Jasper Randell, WILLIAM & JOHN for Padstow w. earthenware, etc., 8 Mar 1680
John Burrington, PARTHENITIA? for Falmouth w. coal, 6 Apr 1680
Arthur Randle, MAYFLOWER from Neath w. coal, 28 May 1680
Nicho. Prust, SEAFLOWER from Neath w. coal, 28 May 1680
Edw. Chappleman, LAMB from Swanzey w. coal, 30 May 1680
James Randle, BLESSING from Neath w. coal, 16 Jun 1680
William Dowstour?, PHENIX from Dartmo. w. salt, 28 Jun 1680
?? Redmore, ENDEAVOUR from Neath w. coal, 5 Jul 1680
Henry Chappleman, ENDEAVOUR from Neath w. coal, 5 Jul 1680
Samuel Ellis, WELFARE from Swanzey w. coal, 12 Jul 1680
James Burden, ADVENTURE from Swanzey w. coal, 12 Jul 1680
Edw. Chappleman, LAMB from Plymouth w. earthenware, 3 Aug 1680
Wm. Redmore, ENDEAVOUR from Swanzey w. coal, 31 Aug 1680
James Randle, BLESSING from Neath w. coal on 17 May, 31 Aug 1680
James Randle, BLESSING from Neath w. coal on 29 Jul, 31 Aug 1680
Henry Chappleman, ENDEAVOUR from Neath w. coal, 31 Aug 1680
Nic. Prust, SEAFLOWER from Tenby w. coal, 13 Sep 1680
Edw. Chapleman, LAMB from Plymouth w. tar?, 17 Sep 1680
James Burdon, ADVENTURE from Swanzey w. coal, 6 Oct 1680
James Randle, BLESSING from Swanzey, w. coal, 6 Oct 1680
Charles Randle, BLESSING from Swanzey, w. coal, 13 Oct 1680
Wm. Dowstour, PHENIX from Neath w. coal, 26 Oct 1680
Nicolas Prust, SEAFLOWER from Tenby w. coal, 9 Nov 1680

Barnstaple: Xmas 1680 - Xmas 1681, E190 959/5

Cha. Randle, MAYFLOWER for Plymouth, w. herring, 8 Feb 1681
Nicholas Prust, SEAFLOWER for Padstow, w. earthenware, 5 May 1681
Robert Pollard, ELIZABETH for Padstow, w. , 8 Aug 1681
George Skinner, BEGINNING for Padstow, w. salt, iron, lanthorns, earthenware, deals, 23 Mar 1681
Henry Chappelman, ENDEAVOUR for Plymouth, w. earthenware, 31 May 1681
James Randle, BLESSING for Falmouth, w. salt from Dartmouth, 9 Jun 1681
James Randle, BLESSING from Tenby, w. culme, 14 Jul 1681*
Henry Chappelman, ENDEAVOUR for Padstow, w. deals, Spanish iron, 6 Aug 1681
James Randle, BLESSING from Padstow, 10 Aug 1681*
Peter Ireland?, ADVENTURE for Plymouth, w. earthenware, 25 Aug 1681
James Randle, BLESSING from Swanzey w. coals, 6 Sep 1681*
James Randle, BLESSING from Swanzey w. coals, 24 Sep 1681*
Cha. Randle, MAYFLOWER from Swanzey w. coals, 3 Oct 1681*

Barnstaple: Xmas 1681 - Xmas 1682, E190 960/13

Andrew Pollard, ADVENTURE for Plymouth, 4 Jan 1682
James Randle, BLESSING for Plymouth, w. herring, 14 Jan 1682
John Rodmow?, KATHERIN for Padstow, w. earthenware, 23 Feb 1682
Nich. Prust, SEAFARE for Plymouth, w. salt, earthenware, 28 Apr 1682
Giles Palmer, PROSPERITY from St Ives, w. barley malt, 15 May 1682
Peter Ackland, ADVENTURE from Swanzea, w. coal, 6 Jul 1682
Andrew Palmer, ELIZABETH & JOAN from Tenby, w. culm, 17 Jul 1682
Peter Ackland, ADVENTURE from Plymouth w. oakham, 24 Jul 1682
Edw. Chappleman, LAMB from Plymouth, w. wine, etc., 7 Aug 1682
R. Pollard, ELIZABETH from Swanzea, w. coal, 9 Aug 1682
Nich. Proust, SEAFLOWER from Neath, w. coal, 9 Aug 1682
Edw. Chappleman, LAMB for Plymouth, w. coal, 26 Aug 1682
Edw. Chappleman, LAMB from Swanzea, w. coal, 26 Aug 1682
Edw. Chappleman, LAMB for Plymouth, w. earthenware, 26 Aug 1682
Edw. Chappleman, LAMB from Plymouth, w. wine, 2 Oct 1682
Chas. Randle, MAYFLOWER from Swanzea, w. coal, 3 Oct 1682
Jam. Randle, BLESSING from Swanzea, w. coal, 3 Oct 1682
Wm. Hallet, BEGINNING from Swanzea, w. coal, 3 Oct 1682
Peter Skinner, DOVE from Neath, w. coal, 21 Nov 1682
Giles Palmer, PROSPERITY from Swanzea, w. coal, 21 Nov 1682
Edw. Chappleman, LAMB for Plymouth, w. herrings, 23 Dec 1682

Barnstaple: (Bideford Sect.) Xmas 1683 - Xmas 1684, E190 962/6

Edward Chappelman, LAMB for Plymo, w. earthenware, 8 Jan 1684
James Burdon, PALMTREE for Plymo, w. herrings, 8 Jan 1684
Sam. Ellis, WELFARE from Swanzey, w. coals, 21 Feb 1684
Sam. Ellis, WELFARE for Swanzey, w. earthenware, 26 Feb 1684
Henry Chappelman, MARY from Padstow, w. brandy, wine, 10 Mar 1684
George Skinner, BEGINNING for Padstow, w. earthenware, herrings, 19 Mar 1684
Anth.? Hamblin, PROPERTY from Tenby, w. culm, 22 May 1684
Arthur Randle, MAYFLOWER for Truro, w. earthenware, 23 Jun 1684
James Burden, PALMTREE from London, w. wool, flour, wine, wheat, mault, black oakham, 11 Jul 1684
Henry Chappleman, MARY from Padstow, w. hilling stones, 4 Aug 1684
James Randle, BLESSING from Swanzey, w. coal on 17 Jun, 6 Aug 1684
James Randle, BLESSING from Swanzey, w. coal on 2 Jul, 6 Aug 1684
Edward Chappelman, LAMB for Plymo, w. earthenware, 7 Aug 1684
Edward Chappleman, LAMB from Swanzey, w. coal, 9 Aug 1684
James Randle, BLESSING from Swanzey, w. coal, 24 Sep 1684
Peter Ackland, ADVENTURE for Plymo, w. herrings, 9 Oct 1684
Andrew Pollard, ADVENTURE from Tenby, w. culm, 15 Aug 1684
Nicho. Prust, SEAFLOWER for Padstow, w. salt, 26 Aug 1684
Robert Birne?, ADVENTURE from Swanzey, w. coal, 13 Oct 1684
Edward Chappelman, LAMB for Plymo, w. herrings, 23 Dec 1684

Barnstaple: Xmas 1685 - MidS 1686, E190 964/14

James Randle, BLESSING for Bristol, w. barley, oats, 9 Feb 1685*
James Randle, BLESSING for Bristol, w. barley, oats, 12 Apr 1685*
Peter Skinner, MARY GOLD for Bude, w. iron, deals, 24 Apr 1685
Arthur Randle, MAYFLOWER from Mitford, w. culme, 27 May 1685*
James Randle, BLESSING from Swanzey, w. coal, 1 Jun 1685*
James Randle, BLESSING from Swanzey, w. coal, 14 Jun 1685*

Barnstaple: MidS 1686 - Xmas 1686, E190 965/9 (No port names)

James Randle, BLESSING from Swanzey, w. barley, oats, 27 Aug 1686*

Barnstaple: Xmas 1689 - Xmas 1690, E190 966/2

James Randole, BLESSING from Bristol? w. coal, Jun 30; 1689
James Rayndle, BLESSING from Swanzey w. coal, July 29; 1689

Barnstaple: (Bideford Sect.) Xmas 1690 - Xmas 1691, E190 966/16 (No port names)

Baptist Porkhelt, DOVE for Padstow, w. salt, 9 Jul 1691*
Baptist Porkholt?, DOVE from Swanzey, w. coal, 9 Jul 1691*
James Randle, BLESSING from Swanzey, w. coal, 28 Jul 1691*
James Randle, BLESSING from Swanzey, w. coal, 8 Aug 1691*
ffrancis Randle, REL...? from Swanzey, w. coal, 5 Oct 1691*
James Randle, BLESSING from Neath, w. coal, 14 Oct 1691*

Barnstaple: (Bideford Sect.) Xmas 1691 - MidS 1692 E190 967/2 (No port names)

James Randall?, BLESSING from Neath, w. coal, 7 Jul?; 1692*

Barnstaple: (Bideford Sect.) Xmas 1692 - MidS 1693 E190 967/5 (No port names)

Wm. Hogg, HOPEWELL from Milford, w. coal, Jan 1693*
James Randle, BLESSING from Swanzey, w. coal, 5 May 1693*
Jasper Randle, ELIZ & JANE from Tenby, w. culm, 5 May 1693*
James Randle, BLESSING from Swanzey, w. coal, 26 May 1693*

Barnstaple: (Bideford Sect.) 1693 MidS - Xmas 1693, E190 968/7

No port names

Barnstaple: (Bideford Sect.) Xmas 1693 - MidS 1694 E190 968/12

James Madge, WM. & ANN from Neath, w. coal, 14 Mar 1694
Geo Heale, HOPEWELL for Botria? Castle, w. ear. ware, 17 Mar 1694
Henry Mumford, ELIZ. & JOAN from Tenby, w. culm, 8 Apr 1694
John Hele, WM. JOHN for Botria Castle, w. salt, 13 Jun 1694
James Randell, BLESSING from Neath, w. coal, 18 Jun 1694

Barnstaple: (Bideford Sect.) MidS 1694 - Xmas 1694, E190 969/10 (No port names)

Jasper Randall, ELIZ. & JOANE from Neath, w. coal?, 23 Sep 1694*
James Randall, BLESSING from Neath, w. coal, 1 Oct 1694*

Barnstaple: (Bideford Sect.) Xmas 1694 - MidS 1695 E190 969/1

James Madge, WM. & ANN from Neath, w. coal, 17 Jan 1695
James Madge, ANN from Swanzey, w. coal, 3 Apr 1695
Jasper Randle, ELIZ. & JOAN from Tenby, w. culm, 9 May 1695
James Randle, RECOVERY from Neath, w. coal, 6 Jun 1695
James Randle, BLESSING from Neath, w. coal, 17 Jun 1695

Barnstaple: MidS 1695 - Xmas 1695, E190 970/15

Geo. Hele, PROSPEROUS for Neath w. iron, 27 Jun 1695
John Dyer, FRIENDS ADVENTURE from Neath w. coal, 31 Jul 1695
Giles Palmer, WM. & JOHN from Neath w. coal, 14 Aug 1695
Wm. George, FRIENDS ADVENTURE from Neath w. coal, 19 Aug 1695
Roger Mumford, MARY GOLD from Neath w. coal, 20 Aug 1695
Geo. Pollard, SPEEDWELL from Swanzey w. coal, 31 Aug 1695
Wm. Baslin?, BETTY from Swanzey w. coal, 6 Sep 1695
Henry Mumford, ELIZ. & JOHN from Neath w. coal, 6 Sep 1695
?? Chapple?, LAMB from Neath w. coal, 9 Sep 1695
Bap? ??oll, DOVE from Milford w. coal, 30 Sep 1695
? Cholwell, RECOVERY? from Bristol w. coal, 7 Nov 1695
Wm. Hodge, FRIENDS AGREEMENT from Neath w. coal, 9 Nov 1695

Barnstaple: (Bideford Sect.) Xmas 1695 - MidS 1696 E190 970/13 (No port names)

James Randell, BLESSING for Bristol, w. oats, sheepskins, 21 Jan 1696*
James Randle, BLESSING for Bristol, w. oats, 22 Feb 1696*
James Randell, BLESSING for Bristol, w. oats, wheat, 21 Apr 1696*

Barnstaple: (Bideford Sect.) MidS 1696 - Xmas 1696, E190 971/2

Wm. Bass?, BETTY for Carmarthen, w. earthenware, 10 Apr 1696
John Dyer, FRIENDS ADVENTURE, from Tenby, w. coal, 10 Jun 1696
John Dyer, FRIENDS ADVENTURE, from Liverpool, w. rock salt, 16 Jun 1696
James Randle, BLESSING for Bristol w. brandy, etc., 29 Jun 1696
John Dyer, FRIENDS ADVENTURE, from Tenby, w. coal, 31 Jun 1696
Henry Mumford, ELIZABETH & JOAN from Neat, w. coal, 31 Jul 1696
Francis Randell, BLESSING from Neath w. coal, 5 Sep 1696
James Randell, BLESSING from Neath w. coal, 9 Oct 1696

Barnstaple: (Bideford Sect.) Xmas 1696 - MidS 1697 E190 971/11

Wm. Basse, BETTY for Milford, 22 Jan 1697
ffrancis Pollard, SPEEDWELL from Swanzey, w. coal, 10 Feb 1697
John Heale, WM. John from Neath, w. coal, 10 Feb 1697
James Madge, WM. & ANN from Neath, w. coal, 16 Mar 1697
ffrancis Pollard, SPEEDWELL from Milford, w. coal, 26 Apr 1697
Arthur Hender?, ADVENTURE from Neath, w. coal, 8 Jun 1697

Barnstaple: (Bideford Sect.) Xmas 1697 - MidS 1698 E190 972/6

No port names

Barnstaple: Xmas 1698 - MidS 1699 E190 973/16

Wm. Bassin?, MARY for Plymouth, 23 Jan 1699
John Palmer, DOVE from Swanzey, w. coal, 14 Feb 1699
Robt. Hoard?, PROSPERITY from Tenby, w. coal, 23 Feb 1699
Edw. Chappleman, PROSPERITY from Padstow, 6 Mar 1699
Wm. Hodgson, PROVIDENCE? for Leverpool, 7 Apr 1699
Wm. Bailey, MARY from Plymouth, 17 Apr 1699
Jam. Randle, BLESSING for Bristol, 18 Apr 1699
Jam. Madge, PALMTREE from Milford, w. culm, 2 May 1699
Jno. Madge, PALMTREE for Plymouth, 15 May 1699
Thos. ???, MARY from Tenby, w. coal, 22 May 1699
Geo. Warmington, FRIENDS ADVENTURE, fr Tenby, w. Culm, 25 May 1699
Jam. Randle, BLESSING from Swanzey, w. coal, 1 Jun 1699

Barnstaple: (Bideford Sect.) MidS 1699 - Xmas 1699, E190 801/37 (Imperfect)

Roger Mumford, MARY GOLD, Jul? 1699
Baptist Porkett?, DOVE, w. culm, 3 Jul 1699
And.? Pollard, SPEEDWELL, 6 Jul 1699
Roger Mumford, MARY GOULD for Plymouth, 3 Aug 1699
Giles Palmer, WM. & JOHN from Neath, w. coal, 7 Aug 1699
Baptist Porkett, DOVE from Swanzey, 22 Aug 1699
Henry Mumford, ELIZ. & JOAN from Truro, 30 Aug 1699
James Randle, BLESSING from Swanzey, 4 Sep 1699
Michaell Skinner, BEGINNING from Swanzey, w. coal, 4 Sep 1699
Andrew Pollard, SPEEDWELL from Liverpool?, Oct 1699
Jasper Randell, ...Z?JOAN, 1699
Saml. Heyell?, WM. & MARY from Swanzey, 1699

Barnstaple: Xmas 1699 - MidS 1700, E190 974/7 (No port names)

James Randell, BLESSING, to Bristol, 12 Jan 1700*
James Randle, BLESSING, to Bristol, 7 Mar 1700*
Roger Mumford, MARY GOULD from Tenby, 10 Jun 1700*
James Randell, BLESSING from Swansea, 12 Jun 1700*

Barnstaple: MidS 1700 - Xmas 1700, E190 975/4 - 6 fol (No port names)

Jasper Rendle, ELIZABETH & JOAN from Neath, 26 Jul 1700*
Jasper Randell, ELIZABETH & JOAN from Neath, 3 Sep 1700*
James Randell, BLESSING from Neath, 19 Sep 1700*
James Randell, BLESSING from Milford, 4 Nov 1700*

Barnstaple: MidS 1701 - Xmas 1701, E190 976/2 - 6 fol

Jno. Palmer, ROSANNE (?) from Padstow, w. stones, 9 Jul 1701
Roger Mumford, SUSANNAY from Neath, w. coal, 16 Sep 1701
Jasper Randell, ELIZ. JOAN from Neath, w. coal, 25 Nov 1701

Barnstaple: Xmas 1701 - MidS 1702, E190 976/5

No port names

Barnstaple: MidS 1702 - Xmas 1702, E190 977/10 - 8 fol (No port names)

Roger Mumford, SUSANNAH from Padstow, w. stones, 4 Jun 1702*
? Mumford, ELIZABETH & JANE from Neath, w. coal, 30 Jul 1702*
Roger Mumford, SUSANNAH from Padstow, w. stones, 29 Aug 1702*
Wm Bass, PHENIX from Neath, w. coal, 8 Sep 1702*
Francis Rendall, BLESSING from Neath, w. coal, 19 Sep 1702*

Barnstaple: (Bideford Sect.) MidS 1704 - Xmas 1704, E190 978/10

John Heard, RESERVE from Padstow, w. hilling stone, 4 Jul 1704
Roger Mumford, SUSANNAH from Swanzey, w. coal, 8 Jul 1704
Wm. Heal, PALMTREE from Padstow, w. hilling stone, 11 Jul 1704
Michl. Skinner, BEGINNING from Swanzey, w. coal, 23 Aug 1704
Wm. Bass, PHENIX from Swanzey, w. coal, 1 Sep 1704
Nic. Harper, PATIENCE from Swanzey, w. coal, 12 Sep 1704
James Randal, BLESSING from Swanzey, w. coal, 15 Sep 1704
Mic. Skinner, BEGINNING from Neath, w. coal, 16 Sep 1704
Wm. Hele, PALMTREE from Padstow, w. hilling stones, 5 Oct 1704
James Mage?, SEAFARE from Liverpool, w. salt, 16 Nov 1704
Zach. Dean, INCREASE from Swanzey, w. coal, 16 Nov 1704
Geo. Pollard, MARY from Swanzey, w. coal, 16 Nov 1704
James Randall, BLESSING from Swanzey, w. coal, 21 Nov 1704
John Bryant, JOHN from Tenby, w. culm, 7 Dec 1704
Tho. Smith, MARY, Brigantine from Swanzey, w. coal, 7 Dec 1704

Barnstaple: Xmas 1705 - Xmas 1706, E190 980/13

James Randle, BLESSING from Swanzey, w. coal, 2 Jan 1705/6
Anth. Cleverdon, HANNAH from Swanzey w. coal, 8 Jan 1705/6
John Harper, JOHN from Tenby, 11 Jan 1705/6
Samuel Ellis, WM. & MARY from Padstow, 23 Jan 1705/6
Antho. Cleverdon, HANNAY from Swanzey, w. coal, 1 Feb 1705/6
Michael Skinner, BEGINGING from Padstow, 5 Feb 1705/6
James Lisle, THOMAS & WILLIAM from Padstow, 1 Mar 1705/6
Michael Chapman, JOANNAH from Padstow, 4 Mar 1705/6
Nicho. Harper, PATIENCE for Swanzey, w. hilling stones, 6 Apr 1705/6
Peter Sanders, MARY from Padstow, 17 Apr 1706
Tho. Cleverdon, INCREASE from Swanzey, w. coal, 30 Apr; 1706
James Lily; THOMAS & WILLIAM from Swanzey w. coal, 10 May 1706
James Lisle, THOMAS & WILLIAM, 10 May 1706
Henry Mumford, ELIZ. & JANE from Liverpool w. rock salt, 3 Jun 1706
Roger Mumford, SUSANNAH from Tenby, w. culm, 8 Jun 1706
Michael Skinner, BEGINNING from Padstow w. stones, 11 Jun 1706
Will. Pollard, SPEEDWELL from Swanzey w. coal, 18 Jun 1706

Barnstaple: MidS 1707 - Xmas 1707, E190 980/2

No Bideford section

Barnstaple: (Bideford Sect.) MidS 1708 - Xmas 1708, E190 981/15

Roger Mumford, SUSANNAH from Padstow, w. hilling stone, 28 Jun 1708
Jasper Randle, SPEEDWELL from Padstow, w. hilling stone, 16 Jul 1708
Arth. Randle, BLESSING from Swanzey, w. coal, 3 Aug 1708
Wm. Hodge, WM. & THOMAS from Swanzey, w. coal, 13 Aug 1708
Rog. Mumford, SUSANNAH from Swanzey, w. coal, 17 Aug 1708
Arth. Randle, BLESSING from Swanzey, w. coal, 2 Sep 1708
Jasper Randle, SPEEDWELL from Swanzey, w. coal, 3 Nov 1708

Bideford: Xmas 1708 - MidS 1709, E190 983/16 - 10 fol

Anthony Cleverdon, ENDEAVOUR from Liverpool, w. salt, 20 Dec 1708
Arthur Randle, BLESSING for Bristol, w. herring, 8 Jan 1708 /9
Anthony Cleverdon, ENDEAVOUR from Llanelly, w. coal, 19 Feb 1708/9
Robt. Hodge, WM .& THOMAS from Tenby, w. coal, 5 Mar 1709
Anthony Cleverdon, ENDEAVOUR for Llanelly, w. salt, 9 Mar 1709
Anthony Cleverdon, ENDEAVOUR from Llanelly, w. coal, 21 Mar 1708/9
James Pickard, SPEEDWELL from Padstow, w. hilling stones, 20 May 1709
John Heal, PROVIDENCE for Bristol, w. oats, 21 May 1709
Arthur Hender, ADVICE from Neath, w. coal, 22 Jun 1709
James Pickard, SPEEDWELL from Padstow, w. hilling stones, 14 Jul 1709
Anthony Cleverdon, ENDEAVOUR from Swansea, w. coal, 20 Jul 1709
Anth. Hender, ADVICE from Tenby, w. coal, 5 Aug 1709
James Rundle, BLESSING from Swansea, w. coal, 5 Aug 1709
John Heal, HANNAH from Neath, w. coal, 30 Aug 1709
James Pickard, SPEEDWELL from Padstow, w. hilling stones, 7 Sep 1709
Wm. Hodge, THOMAS & WILLIAM from Swansea, w. coal, 13 Sep 1709
James Rendall, BLESSING from Swanzy, w. coal, 20 Sep 1709
Jos. Hamlyn, HANNAH from Swansea, w, coal, 4 Oct 1709
Anthony Cleverdon, ENDEAVOUR from Liverpool, w. salt, 18 Oct 1709
Arthur Randall, BLESSING, to Bristol, w. herrings, 8 Dec 1709
Robert Hodge, WILLIAM & THOMAS, to Bristol, w. herrings, 10 Dec 1709
Henry Ellis, PHENIX, 13 Dec 1709

Bideford: Xmas 1709 - MidS 1710, E190 983/5

Roger Mumford, SUSANNAH from Milford, w. culm, 31 Jan 1709/10
Robt. Hodge, WM & THOMAS from Swanzey, 10 Feb 1709/10
Anth. Cleverdon, ENDEAVOUR from Liverpool, w. salt, 20 Feb 1709/10
Rob. Hodge, WM & THOMAS from Padstow, w. stones, 1 Mar 1709/10
Thos. Cleverdon, INCREASE from Swansea, w. coal, 7 Mar 1709/10
Arthur Randle, BLESSING for Bristol, w. 1300 bush. oats, 18 Apr 1709/10

Bideford: MidS 1710 - Xmas 1710, E190 984/8

Roger Mumford, SUSANNA from Swanzey w. coal, 1 Jun 1710
Michaell Chappleman, MARY GOLD from Padstow w. hilling stones, 30 Jun 1710
Thomas Mumford, SUSANNAH from swanzey w. coal, 26 Jul 1710
Henry Ellis, PHENIX from Neath w. coal, 29 Jul 1710
Peter Bryant, ENDEAVOUR from Bristoll w. salt, etc., 15 Aug 1710
Joseph Hamlyn, JOHANNA from Neath w. coal, 18 Aug 1710
John Heale, PROVIDENCE from Padstow w. hilling stone, 22 Aug 1710
Arthur Randall, BLESSING from Neath, w. coal & butter, 28 Aug 1710
Thomas Cleverdon, INCREASE from Llanelly w. coal, 30 Oct 1710
Thomas Cleverdon, INCREASE from Swanzey w. coal, 19 Dec 1710

Bideford: Xmas 1710 - MidS 1711, E190 985/11

Tho. Cleverdon, INCREASE from Bristol, 30 Jan 1710/11
Henry Ellis, PHENIX, 10 Feb 1710/11
Wm. Hodge, WM. & THOMAS from Padstow, 24 May 1711
Wm. Hodge, WM. & THOMAS from Tenby, 12 Jun 1711
Wm. Hodge, WM. & THOMAS, 1710/11
Dorman? Trager?, SPEEDWELL, 1710/11

Bideford: Xmas 1711 - MidS 1712, E190 986/4

Hen. Mumford, DOLPHING, from Neath, w. coal, 29 Dec 1711
Wm. Hodge; Master ofWILLIAM & THOMAS, from Padstow, w. hilling stones, 4 Jan 1712
Wm. Hodge; Master ofWILLIAM & THOMAS for Boscastle, 9 Feb 1712
Wm. Snoe, SPEEDWELL, from Neath, w. coal, 18 Feb 1712
Wm. Hodge; Master ofWILLIAM & THOMAS, from Padstow, w. hilling stones, 10 Mar 1712
Thomas Cleverdon, INCREASE, from Llanelly, w. coal, 14 Apr 1712
Hen. Mumford, HOPEWELL, from Neath, w. coal, 14 Apr 1712
Hen. Mumford, HOPEWELL, from Padstow, w. hilling stones, 17 Jun 1712
?, FRIENDS, from Liverpool, w. rock salt, 1712

Bideford: Xmas 1712 - MidS 1713, E190 986/8

?, BLESSING from Neath w. coal, 1712
Hen. Mumford, HOPEWELL from Padstow w. stones, 23 Mar 1712/13
Jno. Madge, MARY GOLD from Padstow w. stones, 2 Apr 1713
Jasper ?, JOSEPH from Neath w. coal, 5 May 1713

Bideford: MidS 1713 - Xmas 1713, E190 987/13

Hen. Mumford, HOPEWELL from Neath w. coal, 14 Jul 1713
Hen. Mumford, HOPEWELL from Neath w. coal, 28 Jul 1713
Peter Bryant, ENDEAVOUR from Neath w. coal, 12 Aug 1713
Robt. Pollard, ADVICE from Neath w. coal & butter, 18 Aug 1713
Thomas Mumford, INCREASE from Liverpool w. cheese, wearing apparrell, 21 Aug 1713
Arthur Randell, BLESSING from Swanzey, w. coal, 7 Sep 1713
Leo Warmintom, ADVENTURE from Tenby w. coal, 9 Sep 1713
Robt. Sanders, INCREASE from Liverpool w. rock salt, 7 Oct 1713
Joseph Randall, JOSEPH for Bristol, w. white herring, 1 Dec 1713
ffran. Pitt, INCREASE for Bridgewater, w. wine, etc., 3 Dec 1713
Leo Warminton, ADVENTURE for Ilfracombe, w. white & red herring, etc., 4 Dec 1713

Bideford: Xmas 1714 - MidS 1715, E190 988/13

Hen. Mumford, HOPEWELL for Bristol, w. herring, etc., 5 Jan 1715
Henry Ellis, PHENIX for Neath, w. English cyder, etc., 6 Mar 1715
Anthony Hender, AGNES from Dartmouth w. English cyder, etc., 7 Mar 1715
Arthur Randall, JNO. & AGNES from Neath, w. coal, 15 Mar 1715
Arthur Randall, JNO. & AGNES for Ilfracombe, w. herring?, 22 Mar 1715
Hen. Mumford, HOPEWELL from Neath w. coal, 16 Apr 1715

Bideford: MidS 1715 - Xmas 1715, E190 989/1

Wm. Hodge, JOHN from Tenby, w. coal, 4 Jul 1715
Henry Mumford, HOPEWELL from Neath, w. coal, 2 Aug 1715
Mich. Palmer, GEORGE from Neath, w. coal, 31 Aug 1715
Jam. Madge, MARY from Neath, w. coal, 8 Sep 1715
Arth. Randall, JN. & AGNES from Swansea. w. coal, 12 Sep 1715
Mich. Chappleman, MARY GOLD, w. coal, 16 Sep 1715
Jam. Randle, BLESSING from Neath, w. coal, 20 Sep 1715
Fran. Tott, PRINCE ??? from Liverpool, w. salt, 21 Sep 1715

Bideford: Xmas 1715 - MidS 1716, E190 989/7

No port names

Bideford: Xmas 1717 - MidS 1718, E190 991/9

No port names

Bideford: MidS 1719 - Xmas 1719, E190 993/6 (No port names)

Tho. Randle, BLESSING from Milford w. coal, 1719*

Bideford: Xmas 1719 - MidS 1720, E190 993/11

No port names

Bideford: MidS 1720 - Xmas 1720, E190 994/5

Wm. Galsworthy, PROSPEROUS from Padstow, 27 Jun 1700
James Lyle, NEW MARY from Padstow, 5 Aug 1700
James Lyle, MARY from Padstow, 8 Sep 1700
Jno. Hodge, REBECCA from Bideford, 24 Dec 1700
James Madge, DOLPHIN from Bideford, 24 Dec 1700
William Pollard, FRIENDSHIP from Bideford, 24 Dec 1700

Bideford: Xmas 1720 - MidS 1721, E190 994/14 (No port names)

Arthur Randall, SPEEDWELL from Milford w. culme, 19 Apr 1721*

Bideford: MidS 1721 - Xmas 1721, E190 995/2

John Oaks, BLESSING from Carmarthen w. culm, 18 Jul 1721*
John Oaks, BLESSING from Neath w. coal, 18 Jul 1721*
Roger Mumford, HOPEWELL from Swanzey w. coal, 22 Aug 1721*
James Randle, BLESSING from Neath w. coal, 4 Sep 1721*

Bideford: MidS 1735 - Xmas 1735, E190 1000/6 (Few port names)

Wm. Gliddon, FENELSON? from Carmarthen w. culme, 25 Jun 1735
Wm. Gliddon, JENCLOVE? from Carmarthen w. culme, 31 Jul 1735

Bideford: Xmas 1735 - MidS 1736, E190 1000/10

Illegible

Bideford: MidS 1736 - Xmas 1736, E190 1000/12

Salathiel Ball?, WM. & JN. from Carmarthen, w. coal & culme, 23 Jul 1736
Wm. Pollard, RESERVE from Neath w. coal, 27 Jul 1736
Wm. Glyddon; , TRUELOVE from Carmarthen w. coal & culme, 2 Aug 1736
Jno. Dawkins, PROVIDENCE from Neath w. coal, 13 Aug 1736
Wm. Glyddon, TRUELOVE from Carmarthen w. coal & culme, 14 Aug 1736
Wm. Pollard, RESERVE from Neath w. coal, 20 Aug 1736
Wm. Glyddon, TRUELOVE from Carmarthen w. coal & culme, 28 Aug 1736*
Wm. Gliddon, TRUELOVE from Carmarthen w. coal & culme, 13 Sep 1736*
Jno. Dawkins, PROVIDENCE from Neath w. coal, 16 Sep 1736*
Jno. Hamlin, JOHN from Neath, w. coal, 1736

Bideford: Xmas 1736 - MidS 1737, E190 1001/5

No Clovelly items found

Bideford: MidS 1737 - Xmas 1737, E190 1001/6

Wm. Gliddon, INCREASE from Carmarthen, 8 Jul 1737*
Wm. Pollard, EXCHANGE from Penzance w. tin, 14 Jul 1737
William Gliddon, TRUELOVE for Carmarthen, w. coal, culm, butter, 28 Jul 1737*
Jno Dawkins, PRUDENCE, for Neath w. coal, 13 Aug 1737*
Wm. Gliddon, TRUELOVE for Carmarthen (?), w. coal, culm, 16 Aug 1737*
Wm. Pollard, EXCHANGE from Neath w. coal, 5 Sep 1737*
John Dawkins, PRUDENCE, for Neath w. coal, 28 Sep 1737*
Jno Davie, SARAH for Neath, w. coal, 8 Dec 1737
Wm. Ellis, JOHN & WILLM. for Neath w. coal, 12 Dec 1737

Bideford: Xmas 1737 - MidS 1738, E190 1001/10

Wm. Glidden, TRUELOVE from Carmarthen w. coal, 11 Jan 1738
Wm. Pollard, EXCHANGE from Milford w. culme, 10 Jun 1738*
Wm. Pollard, EXCHANGE from Milford, w. culm, 1738*

Bideford: Xmas 1738 - MidS 1739, E190 1001/17

John Davie, SARAH from Neath, w. coal, 3 Feb 1739
Wm. Pollard, EXCHANGE from Neath, w. coal, 6 Mar 1739
Wm. Glidden, LOYALTY from Carmarthen, w. coale, culme, 14 Mar 1739
Sam Ellis, DISPATCH for London, w. earthenware, syder, etc., 24 Mar 1739
Wm. Pollard, EXCHANGE from Neath, w. coal, 9 Apr 1739
Wm. Glidden, LOYALTY from Carmarthen, w. coale, culme, 15 May 1739

Bideford: Xmas 1739 - MidS 1740, E190 1002/11

No Clovelly items found

Bideford: MidS 1740 - Xmas 1740, E190 1002/5

Thos. Noy, THOS & MARY from Neath w. coal, 16 Jul 1740
Wm. Pollard, EXCHANGE from Neath, w. coal, 1 Aug 1740
Wm. Ellis, JOHN & WM. from Bristol w. oats, 23 Aug 1740
Wm. Pollard, EXCHANGE from Neath, w. coal, 29 Aug 1740
John Yeo, CONSTANT MOLLY? from Neath, w. coal, 29 Aug 1740
John Morross?, BRIDGETT from Tenby, w. culm, 30 Aug 1740
Thos. Noy, THOS. & MARY from Neath w. coal, 24 Dec 1740

Brian Randell

16 April 1995