Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Coldridge

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Coldridge

"COLERIDGE, or COLDRIDGE, 5 miles S. of Chulmleigh, and east of Winkleigh, has in its parish 677 souls, and 3670 acres of fertile land, including the hamlet of Leigh, and a number of scattered farms. A fair is held in the village on the first Tuesday in March. The Hon. Newton Fellowes is lord of the manor, and owns a great part of the soil, and the rest belongs to the trustees of the late Earl of Egremont, Mrs. Parker, and several smaller owners. The Church (St. Mary,) is a fine antique fabric, with a beautifully carved screen, and six musical bells. In the chancel is an effigy of one of the Evans family. The vicarage, valued in K.B. at £7. 8s. 9d., and in 1831 at £142, is in the patronage of the Bishop of Exeter, and incumbency of the Rev. J.S. Townshend, who has 17A. of glebe, and a good residence, built about 12 years ago, at the cost of £500. The tithes were commuted in 1844, the vicarial for £155, and the rectorial for £200. The latter belong to the Hon. Newton Fellowes, who partly supports the parish school. The Plymouth Brethren have a small chapel here. A tomb in the church records the death of three brothers, who were killed by lightning." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in North Tawton Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter. (Not to be confused with Coleridge Hundred.)

topup

Cemeteries

Williams, John. Monumental Inscriptions: Aller Bridge Chapel (Plymouth Brethren) cemetery, Typescript (2012) 7 pp. [DFHS Library - Coldridge parish file]

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Coldridge area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Coldridge - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Photograph and description of the Plymouth Brethren Gospel Hall at Allerbridge, provided by Sue Davey.

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1556 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1556 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

The members' area of the Devon FHS website makes available online images, not at present (Jan 2016) available elsewhere, of the Parish Registers covering Coleridge Baptisms, Marriages and Burials: 1556-1793, Baptisms and Burials: 1794-1812, Baptisms: 1813-1854, Baptisms: 1854-1909, Marriages and Banns: 1754-1823, Marriages: 1813-1837, Marriages: 1837-1914, Burials: 1813-1909.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1558-1837 and Marriages 1556-1837.

Sellman, R.R. Coldridge, Devon: edited transcript of parish registers to 1812/1837, with family reconstitutions. Typescript (1990) 144p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.3/COL/1556]
An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Bondleigh, Bow, Brushford, Burrington, Chawleigh, Chulmleigh, Clannaborough, Coleridge, Eggesford, Lapford, North Tawton, Nymet Rowland, Wembworthy and Zeal Monachorum. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850). CD-ROM 063, Exeter, Devon FHS (2014). [Bondleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Bow Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Brushford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Burrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Chawleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Chulmleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Clannaborough Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1759-1834, Bur: 1697-1836; Coleridge Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Eggesford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1750-1838; Lapford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1567-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; North Tawton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Nymet Rowland Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1756-1836, Bur: 1734-1879; Wembworthy Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1733-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Zeal Monachorum Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837]
topup

Description and Travel

Coldridge village web-site: photographs of the village, the interior and exterior of the church, map, etc.

Section on Coldridge from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Coldridge which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Entry from 1893 Kelly's Post Office Directory, provided by Sue Davey.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Coldridge to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

This parish is one of the growing number of places for which the Devon Heritage website provides census or parish register transcriptions, articles, and/or illustrations, etc.

Adrian Parry's History of the Shobbrook Family (of Coldridge).

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Coldridge has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Sue Davey's Coldridge pages provide historical information, and parish register extracts.

Reichel, Oswald J. BCL, MA, FSA. The Hundreds of Devon, XII. The early history of the Hundred of Cadelintona or Colridge. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 43, (1911) pp.190-236. [Index]
Williams, H. Fulford. Notes on the Parish of Coleridge, Devon. Typescript (1962) 7 leaves. [Westcountry Studies Library]
topup
topup

Names, Personal

Protestation Return of 1641/42 from Devon Heritage.

Gray, Todd, (Ed.). Harvest Failure in Devon and Cornwall [1623 and 1630-1]: The Book of Orders and the Corn Surveys, Redruth, (1992). [ISBN 0903686651] [Contains detailed household listings, covering grain-producing households, for Coldridge and Stanborough Hundreds.]
topup

Probate Records

Transcription of the will of John Shobrooke (1655), provided by Sheila Howard.

Abstract of the wiil of Christopher Kingdom (1765) provided by Elizabeth Pedrick-Case.