GENUKI: East Worlington, Devon

Hide

Click on map to view parish boundaries in detail.

Hide

hide

Hide

"WORLINGTON, (EAST) a small scattered village on the northern acclivity of the valley of the little Dart, six miles E. of Chulmleigh, has in its parish 287 souls, and 2363A. 1R. 26P, of land, rising boldly towards the north, where there are three farms called East, West and Middle Barrow, from the tumuli or mounds of earth under which ancient Britons are supposed to have been buried. The Hon. Newton Fellowes owns a great part of the parish and is lord of the manor; and the rest belongs to various freeholders. Denridge Barton was formerly a seat of the Radfords, who had a deer park here; and another old house, called Pidley, was formerly the seat of the St. Leger family. About a mile from the Barrows is a square stone, with a cross on each side of it, which has been the subject of much antiquarian conjecture. The Church (St. Mary,) is a small ancient structure, with a tower containing four bells, and crowned by a short spire. The rectory, valued in K.B. at £7. 15s. 10d., and in 1831 at £238, is in the patronage of the Hon. Newton Fellowes, and incumbency of the Rev. Benj. Clay, M.A., who has a neat thatched residence, and 66½A. of glebe. . . .." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Witheridge Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Hide

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the NDA North Devon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Whitmore, J.B. Devonshire Monumental Inscriptions, MS at Society of Genealogists (1951). [Extracts]

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

**Anglican**
St Mary, East Worlington, Church of England

Church History

East Worlington - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Usmar, John. The History of Worlington Methodist Chapel, Witheridge, John Usmar (1995) 76 pp. [Westcountry Studies Library px301.34/WIT/USM]

Woollcombe, Rev. William. Sermons on Various Subjects, London: Trewman & Son. Sold also by Rivington (1797) liv, 297 pp. [List of Devon Subscribers]

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1725 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1725 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837 - for details see their Devon Parish List.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1725-1850, and Marriages 1725-1851.

Holt, R.W. Separate indices of the copy registers of christenings ... marriages...banns...burials...of the parish of East Worlington. Typescript (1980?) 53p. [Westcountry Studies Library - s929.3/EAS/1725]

The Deanery of South Molton: An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Bishop's Nympton, Cheldon, Creacombe, Cruwys Morchard, East Anstey, East Woolfardisworthy, East Worlington, George Nympton, King's Nympton, Knowstone, Mariansleigh, Meshaw, Molland, North Molton, Oakford, Puddington, Rackenford, Romansleigh, Rose Ash, Satterleigh, South Molton, Stoodleigh, Templeton, Thelbridge, Twitchen, Warkleigh, Washford Pyne, West Anstey, West Worlington and Witheridge. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850) and Kelly's Directory of Devonshire (1902). CD-ROM 062, Exeter, Devon FHS (2015). [Bishop's Nympton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Cheldon Bapt: 1813-1843, Mar: 1755-1835, Bur: 1813-1841; Creacombe Bapt: 1814-1902, Mar: 1759-1835, Bur: 1813-1850; Cruwys Morchard Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Anstey Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1688-1839; East Woolfardisworthy Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1840, Bur: 1813-1837; East Worlington Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; George Nympton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1790-1837; King's Nympton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Knowstone Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1740-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Mariansleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1757-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Meshaw Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1836, Bur: 1813-1838; Molland Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; North Molton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Oakford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1840; Puddington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1759-1836, Bur: 1740-1837; Rackenford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Romansleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1730-1837; Rose Ash Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1850; Satterleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; South Molton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Stoodleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Templeton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Thelbridge Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1853; Twitchen Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Warkleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1851; Washford Pyne Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1756-1836, Bur: 1813-1840; West Anstey Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1745-1838; West Worlington Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1846, Bur: 1813-1851; Witheridge Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1835]

Description & Travel

Section on East Worlington from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of East Worlington which are provided by:

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from East Worlington to another place.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk for this parish is Alison Boundy, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: PRs on fiche; 1841,51,61, 81 censuses.) [Temporarily unavailable.]

Peachey, Joyce. West Country Links Going Full Circle, Devon Family Historian, vol. 155, (2015) pp.13-14. [James Middleton (b 1823) and others]

History

Hill, H.A. Quotidian quotations. The East Worlington Kalendar for 1910 edited with a few local notes. Hartland: Burrow & Co (1910) 106p, 4 plates: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - B/EAS 9/0001/HIL]

Phear, Sir John B. Coins found at East Worlington. In Nineteenth Report of the Committee on Scientific Memoranda.
Trans. Devon. Assoc., 1896, Vol XXVIII, pp.62-64. [Transcript]

Vermeulen, Barbara. Burials - Holbeton Parish register, 18 December 1793, Devon Family Historian, vol. 146, (2013) pp.8.

Maps

View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SS774137 (Lat/Lon: 50.90971, -3.745188), East Worlington which are provided by:

OpenStreetMap
Google Maps
StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
Bing (was Multimap)
Old Maps Online
National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.

Names, Personal

East Worlington contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

Ryall, David. Lest We Forget, War memorials around South Molton. South Molton Archive, 68pp. [ISBN 0 951236 1 4] [Provides an indexed list of names]

Occupations

East Worlington Apprentice Register 1805-1842. [Devon]: Devon Family History Society (2013). [Foreword]

Societies

South Molton and District Archive Local History Society web-site (archived copy) - provides details of archive holdings for the twenty-eight parishes in what used to be the South Molton Rural District, lists of publications, etc.