Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Frithelstock

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Frithelstock

"FRITHELSTOCK, a village and parish 2 miles W. of Great Torrington, comprises 705 souls and 2380 acres of land, including the hamlets of Frithelstock Stone, and Milford. There was a small Priory of Austin Canons here, founded by Sir Roger Beauchamp, in the reign of Henry III. ... The estate now belongs to Lord Clinton, but the Rev. P. Thomas is lord of the manor, and Mrs. Stevens, and a few smaller owners, have estates in the parish. The Church (St. Mary and St. Gregory,) is an ancient structure, and the living is a perpetual curacy, in the patronage of Mrs. P. Johns, and incumbency of the Rev. G.W.T. Carwithen, M.A. Part of the Priory church, with lancet shaped windows, still remains." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Shebbear Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

topup

Biography

Chope, R.Pearse. John Abbott, plasterer. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 14:7, (1927) pp.289-290, plates: port; ill. [For earlier plasterers see T.D.A. 49, p.196.] [1680- ]
topup

Business and Commerce Records

Listings of Licensed Victuallers for this parish are to be found here.

topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS and Incledon indexes - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Frithelstock area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Chope, R.P. The Augustinian Priory of Frithelstock; with a description of the ruins and some account of the parish church of St Mary, St Gregory and St Edmund, by C.A. Ralegh Radford. (1928) [Plymouth Library]
Chope, R. Pearse. Frithelstock Priory. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 61, (1929) pp.167-191.
Dredge, J.Ingle. Frithelstock Priory in the Deanery of Hartland, Exeter: William Pollard (1894) 11 pp. [Westcountry Studies Library 726.7/FRI/DRE]
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1556 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1556 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

Transcriptions of Frithelstock Baptisms (1563-1823), Marriages (1573-1812), and Burials (1571-1812), by Betsey Rubel.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1840, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1819-37 - see in Bideford (PRO RG 4/955)

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1556-1873 (extracts only) and Marriages 1575-1859 (extracts only).

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Abbotsham, Alverdiscott, Alwington, Bideford, Buckland Brewer, Bulkworthy, Clovelly, East Putford, Frithelstock, Hartland, Landcross, Littleham, Monkleigh, Northam, Parkham, Wear Gifford, Welcombe and West Woolfardisworthy. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850 and Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of England 1844, CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2009). [Abbotsham Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Alverdiscott Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1775-1837; Alwington Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bideford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Buckland Brewer Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bulkworthy Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1814-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Clovelly Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Putford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1797-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Frithelstock Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Hartland Bapt: 1838-1839, Mar: 1558-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Landcross Bapt: 1814-1839, Mar: 1761-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Littleham Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1851; Monkleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Northam Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Parkham Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1537-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Wear Gifford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Welcombe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1757-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; West Woolfardisworthy Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837.]
Pascoe, W.H. Frithelstock or Laughing Stock, Devon Family Historian, vol. 155, (2015) pp.34-35. [Amusing PR entries]
topup

Description and Travel

Extract from Murray's "Handbook for Travellers in Devonshire" (1879), for Great Torrington, with Monkleigh and Frithelstock.

Section on Frithelstock from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Frithelstock which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcript of complete entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Frithelstock to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

Bennett: genealogical memoranda relating to the Bennett family.., Miscellanea Genealogica et Heraldica 1, 1868, pp. 294-7. [Of Devon and Cornwall.]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Frithelstock has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Jackson, Sue and Adams, Rod. The Tallamys of Devon, Devon Family Historian, vol. 128, (2008) pp.11-12. [Of various North Devon parishes, particularly Moretonhampstead, and also Frithelstock and Buckland Brewer.]
topup
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Transcript of a Bastardy Order on William Squire (1830) by John Fisher.

topup

Probate Records

Will of Benjamin Frayne (1701), transcribed by Jonathan Frayne.