Transcribed from William White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Devonshire 1850, by Terry Partridge.
HARFORD is a small scattered village, in the picturesque valley of the river Erme, 2½ miles N. of Ivybridge. Its parish includes part of Ivybridge, and contains 193 souls, and about 3600 acres of land, of which 1571 acres are cultivated, and the rest open moorland, at the southern extremity of Dartmoor Forest, where the hills rise in bold disorder from the rivers and streamlets. H. B. Rivers, Esq., is lord of the manor; but the Hall and other estates belong to Sir F. L. Rogers, Bart., and several smaller owners have estates in the parish, The Church is an ancient structure, with a tower and three bells: and the living is a rectory, valued in K.B. at £11. 14s. 4½d., and in 1831 at 3210, in the patronage of T. Sanders, Esq., and incumbency of the Rev. W. F. Sanders, B.A., who has a good modern residence, and 50A. of glebe. The tithes were commuted in 1838, for £180 per annum. The Independent Chapel, the London and Bridge Inns, and one of the paper mills, at Ivybridge, are in this parish.
Rivers Henry Bowen & Henry, Esqrs
Sanders Rev Wm. Fdk., B.A. Rectory
Savage Miss Grove
Crocker Matthew, Combeshead
Hillson George, Broom hill
Sanders Henry, The Hall
Smith Samuel, The Glebe
Rowse Jas. Hele, West Combeshead
Walke Thomas, Lukesland