Name Index


Nineteenth Report (Third Series) of the Committee on The Climate of Devon

Trans. Devon Assoc., vol. XXXIII, (1901), p. 77-78.


Alfred Chandler & W. Ingram, A.M.I.C.E. (Eds.).

Prepared by Michael Steer

The obituary was read at the Association’s July 1901 Exeter meeting. The annual account of Meteorological Observations in Devon for 1900 was presented in the tabulated form adopted by the Committee for the past 19 nineteen years. There were during 1900, 27 Stations throughout the county at which Meteorological Observations were made. These were located as widely as possible throughout  the entire County. Three Stations were added in 1900; Abbotskerswell, Kingswear, and Great Torrington. This report extract will (a) provide names of the Climate Committee members, and (b) a comprehensive list of the Stations at which readings were taken, as well as (c) the names of the observers. The report extract is from a copy of a rare and much sought-after journal that can be downloaded from the Internet Archive. Google has sponsored the digitisation of books from several libraries. These books, on which copyright has expired, are available for free educational and research use, both as individual books and as full collections to aid researchers.

Committee Purpose: To collect and tabulate trustworthy and comparable observations on the climate of Devon.

Committee Members (Page 77)
Mr James Hamlyn, J.P. Chairman
Mr P.F.S. Amery, J.P.
Sir Cuthbert B. Peek, R.R.A.S.
Mr W, Ingram, C.E.
Mr A Chandler, Secretary

Stations and Observers (Page 78)

Abbotskerswell Mrs Marcus Hare
Ashburton P.F.S. Amery, J.P
Barnstaple Thomas Wainwright
Bere Alston Sir Alfred W. Croft, M.A., K.C.I.E.
Buckfastleigh James Hamlyn, J.P.
Cullompton T. Turner, F.R. Met. Soc.
Exeter A.R. Allinson, M.A. Librarian
Plymouth Reservoir Frank Howarth, A.M.I.C.E.
Holne Rev John Gill, M.A.
Ilfracombe M.W. Tattam
Kingswear William Cross, M.I.C.E.
Newton Abbot F.H. Plumptree, J.P.
Plymouth (Hoe) H. Victor Prigg, A.M.I.C.E.
Princetown W. Marriott, F.R. Met. Soc.
Rousdon The Late Sir Cuthbert B Peek. M.A., F.R.A.S., F. R. Met.Soc.
Sidmouth Miss K.P. Radford
South Brent Miss C.M. Kingwell
South Molton W.H. Reeve
Tavistock E.E. Glyde, F.R. Met.Soc.
Teignmouth W. C. Lake, M.D.
Torquay Observatory Frederick Marsh, F. R. Met.Soc.
Torquay Watershed William Ingram, A.M.I.C.E.
Torrington, Great    George M. Doe.
Woollacombe Bay   Edward Henshall, A.M.I.C.E.