Name Index


Thirtieth Report (Third Series) of the
Committee on the Climate of Devon

Trans. Devon Assoc., vol. 44, (1912), pp. 136-153.


R. Hansford Worth (Ed.)

Prepared by Michael Steer

The Committee’s 30th Report was read at the Association’s Jubilee, July 1912 Exeter meeting. The annual account of Meteorological Observations in Devon for 1911 was presented in the tabulated form adopted by the Committee for the past 19 nineteen years. This report extract =provides (a) names of the Climate Committee members, and (b) a comprehensive list of the Stations at which readings were taken, as well as (c) the names of the contributing observers. The report extract is from a copy of a rare and much sought-after journal that can be downloaded from the Internet Archive. Google has sponsored the digitisation of books from several libraries. These books, on which copyright has expired, are available for free educational and research use, both as individual books and as full collections to aid researchers.

Committee Members:
Mr. J. S. Amery,
Sir Alfred W. Croft,
Mr. Thomas Wainwright,
Mr. R. Hansford Worth (Secretary)


Names from the Report (Pages 136-139)    
Barran, Mr Charles   137
Glyde, Mr   136
Latham, Mr Baldwin   138-9
Mead-Briggs, Mr J.H   136
Monk, Mr W.J   136
Radford, Miss C.M   137
Ramsay, Rev H. F   136
Reeve, Mr W.H   136
Wainwright, Mr   136
Stations and Observers (Pages 139-140)    
Abbotskerswell Mrs Marcus Hare 139
Ashburton J.S. Amery 139
Barnstaple Thomas Wainwright 139
Bere Alston Sir Alfred W. Croft, M.A., K.C.I.E. 139
Brandis Corner G.V. Corbet 139
Collumpton Murray T. Foster, F.R. Met.Soc. 139
Devonport Watershed F.W. Lillicrap 140
Exeter John E.Coombes 140
Holne (Vicarage) Rev John Gill, M.A. 140
Huccaby R, R. Burnard, F.S.A 140
Ilfracombe M.W. Tattam 140
Kingsbridge T.W. Latham 140
Lynmouth T.H. Mead-Briggs 140
Newton Abbot E.D. Wylie 140
Okehampton Maj.-Gen. E.H. Holley, R.A., J.P 140
Plymouth Observatory H. Victor Prigg, A.M.I.C.E., F.R. Met. Soc 140
Plymouth Watershed Frank Howorth, M.I.C.E 140
Postbridge E.A. Bennett 140
Princetown (Prison) W. Marriott, F.R.Met.Soc 140
Roborough Frank Howarth, M.I.C.E 140
Rousdon (Observatory) Lady Peek 140
Sidmouth Miss Constance M. Radford 140
Simonsbath Ramsay, Rev H.F 140
South Brent Miss C.A. Kingwell 140
South Molton W.H. Reeve 140
Tavistock W.J. Monk 140
Teignmouth W.C. Lake, M.D. 140
Torquay Observatory Frederick March, F.R.Met. Soc 140
Torquay Watershed S.C. Chapman, M.I.C.E. 140
Torrington George M. Doe 140
Totnes (Berry Pomeroy) Charles Barran, J.P 140
Totnes (Northgate) H. Lovejoy 140
Woolacombe R.N. Kivell & Miss Chichester 140