Name Index


Thirty-First Report (Third Series) of the
Committee on the Climate of Devon

Trans. Devon Assoc., vol. 45, (1913), pp. 127-142.


R. Hansford Worth (Ed.)

Prepared by Michael Steer

The Committee’s 30th Report was read at the Association’s 23rd July 1913 Buckfastleigh meeting. The annual account of Meteorological Observations in Devon for 1911 was presented in the tabulated form adopted by the Committee for the past 19 years. By way of synopsis, the report year 1912 was a distinctly wet and cold period in Devon; particularly cold in the summer and autumn, but without any striking minimal temperature in the winter months. Regarding rainfall, the year exceeded the average of 47 years at Ashburton by over 28%. The wettest month at that weather station was August with 10.34 inches, and for the first time in 47 years, April was the driest of the 12, the rainfall was only 0.26 inches, 0.23 of which fell on a single day. At every station published in the report, August was the wettest and April the driest month. The report extract is from a copy of a rare and much sought-after journal that can be downloaded from the Internet Archive. Google has sponsored the digitisation of books from several libraries. These books, on which copyright has expired, are available for free educational and research use, both as individual books and as full collections to aid researchers.
Committee Purpose: To collect and tabulate trustworthy and comparable observations on the climate of Devon.

Committee Members (Page 127):
Mr. J. S. Amery,
Sir Alfred W. Croft,
Mr. Thomas Wainwright,
Mr. R. Hansford Worth (Secretary)


Names from the Report (Pages 127-128)    
Burnard, Mr R 128
Grover, Mr C 127
Joll, Captain H. H. 128
Stations and Observers (Pages 128-129)
Observer Weather Station Page
Amery, J.S Ashburton 128
Barran, Charles Berry Pomeroy 129
Bennet, E.H Postbridge 128
Chapman, S.C Torquay Watershed 129
Chichester, Miss Woolacombe 129
Coombes, John E Exeter 128
Corbet, G.V Brandis Corner 128
Croft, Sir Alfred W Bere Alston 128
Doe, George M Great Torrington 129
Foster, Murray T Cullompton 128
Gill, Rev John Holne 128
Grover, C Rousdon 129
Hare, Mrs Marcus Abbotskerwell 128
Holley, Maj-Gen. E.H Okehampton 128
Howarth, Frank Plymouth Watershed 128
Howarth, Frank Roborough 129
Joll, Captain H. H Huccaby 128
Kingwell, Miss C.M South Brent 129
Kivell, R.N Woolacombe 129
Lake, W.C Teignmouth 129
Latham, T.W Kingsbridge 128
Lillicrap, F.W Devonport Watershed 128
Lovejoy, H Totnes, Northgate 129
March, Frederick Torquay 129
Mead-Briggs, T.H Lynmouth 128
Monk, W.J Tavistock Station 129
Parry, George Princetown Prison 129
Partridge, J Salcombe 129
Peek, Lady Rousdon 129
Prigg, H. Victor Plymouth 128
Radford, Miss Constance M Sidmouth 129
Ramsay, Rev H.F Simonsbath 129
Rossiter, G Teignmouth 129
Tattam, M.W Ilfracombe 128
Wainwright, Thomas Barnstaple 128
Wylie, E.D Newton Abbot 128