Name Index


Thirty-Second Report (Third Series) of the
Committee on the Climate of Devon

Trans. Devon Assoc., vol. 46, (1914), pp. 103-118.


R. Hansford Worth (Ed.)

Prepared by Michael Steer

The report was read at the Association’s July 22, 1914 Tavistock meeting. The Meteorological Office report for 1913 summarised the year as, "Dull, an open winter, a wet spring, a summer very dry but neither sunny nor warm and a uniformly mild autumn." One new station appeared in the returns - Leusdon Vicarage, Dartmoor. Mr. Murray T. Foster reported the occurrence of an exceptional hailstorm in the Culm Valley on October 27th, 1913. This report extract will (a) provide names of the Climate Committee members, (b) a comprehensive list of the Stations at which readings were taken, as well as (c) the names of the observers. The report extract is from a copy of a rare and much sought-after journal that can be downloaded from the Internet Archive. Google has sponsored the digitisation of books from several libraries. These books, on which copyright has expired, are available for free educational and research use, both as individual books and as full collections to aid researchers.
Committee Purpose: To collect and tabulate trustworthy and comparable observations on the climate of Devon.

Committee Members (Page 105):
Mr. J. S. Amery,
Sir Alfred W. Croft,
Mr. Thomas Wainwright,
Mr. R. Hansford Worth (Secretary)

Stations and Observers (Page 105)
Abbotskerswell (Court Grange) Mrs Marcus Hare
Ashburton (Druid) ) J.S. Amery
Barnstaple) Thomas Wainwright
Bere Alston (Rumleigh) Sir Alfred W. Croft, M.A., K.C.I.E
Brandis Corner) G.V. Corbet
Cullompton) Murray T. Foster, F.R. Met. Soc.
Dartmoor, Leusdon Vicarage) Rev A.A. Woolcombe
Devonport Watershed:  
Cowsic Valley (weekly) F.W. Lillicrap
Devil's Tor (near Beardown Man) (monthly) F.W. Lillicrap
Exeter (Devon and Exeter Institution) John E. Coombes, Librarian
Holne (Vicarage) Rev John Gill, M.A.
Huccaby Capt. H.H. Judd
Ilfracombe M.W. Tattam
Kingsbridge (Westcombe) T.W. Latham
Lynmouth (Rock House) T.H. Mead-Briggs
Newton Abbot (The Chestnuts) E.D. Wylie
Okehampton (Oaklands) Maj-Gen. E. H. Holly, R.A., J.P.
Plymouth Observatory H. Victor Prigg, A.M.I.C.E., F.R.Met.Soc.
Plymouth Watershed:  
Head Weir (Plymouth Reservoir) Frank Howarth, M. Inst.C.E.
Postbridge (Archerton) E.A. Bennett
Princetown (H.M. Prison) George Parry
Roborough Reservoir  
Siward's Cross (monthly) Frank Howarth, M.I.C.E.
Rousdon (The Observatory) C. Grover, observer for Lady Peek
Salcombe J. Partridge
Sidmouth (Sidmount) Miss Constance M. Radford
Simonsbath Rev. H.F. Ramsay
South Brent (Great Aish) Miss C.M. Kingwell
Tavistock (L. and S.W. Rlwy. Station) W.J. Monk
Teignmouth Observatory G. Rossiter
Teignmouth (Benton) W.C. Lake, M.D.
Torquay Observatory Frederick March, F.R.Met.Soc.
Torquay Watershed:  
Kennick S.C. Chapman M.I.C.E
Laployd S.C. Chapman M.I.C.E
Mardon S.C. Chapman M.I.C.E
Torrington, Great (Enfield) George M. Doe
Totnes (Berry Pomeroy) Charles Barran J.P.
Totnes (Northgate H. Lovejoy
Woolacombe (N. Devon) R.N. Kivell, for Miss Chichester