Name Index


Thirty-Third Report (Third Series) of the
Committee on the Climate of Devon

Trans. Devon Assoc., vol. 47, (1915), pp. 171-174.


R. Hansford Worth (Ed.)

Prepared by Michael Steer

The report was read at the Association’s July 21, 1915 Exeter meeting. The year 1914 in Devon was distinctly wet, with 25 per cent, more than the average rainfall. About one in every ten years equals or exceeds this percentage. The temperature was slightly above the average. This report extract will (a) provide names of the Climate Committee members, (b) a comprehensive list of the Stations at which readings were taken, as well as (c) the names of the observers. The report extract is from a copy of a rare and much sought-after journal that can be downloaded from the Internet Archive. Google has sponsored the digitisation of books from several libraries. These books, on which copyright has expired, are available for free educational and research use, both as individual books and as full collections to aid researchers.
Committee Purpose: To collect and tabulate trustworthy and comparable observations on the climate of Devon.

Committee Members (Page 170):
Mr. J. S. Amery,
Sir Alfred W. Croft,
Mr. Thomas Wainwright,
Mr. R. Hansford Worth (Secretary)

Introduction (Page 170):
Amery, Mr J.S
Evans, Mr Wilfred J.O.
Howorth, Mr F.W., M.I.C.E.
Lovejoy, Mr H.


Stations and Observers (Page 173-4)


Stations Observers
Abbotskerswell (Court Grange) Mrs. Marcus Hare.
Ashburton (Druid) J. S. Amery.
Ashburton (West St.) W. J. O. Evans.
Barnstaple Thomas Wainwright.
Bere Alston (Rumleigh) Sir Alfred W. Croft, M.A., K.C.I.E.
Brandis Corner Sir Gerald Corbet, Bart
Cullompton Murray T. Foster, F.R.Met.Soc.
Dartmoor, Leusdon Vicarage Rev. A. A. Woollcombe.
Devonport Watershed Frank Howarth, M.Inst.C.E.
Exeter (Devon and Exeter Institution) John E. Coombes, Librarian
Holne (Vicarage) The Rev. John Gill, M.A.
Huccaby Capt. H. H. Joll.
Ilfracombe O. Prowse, A.M.I.C.E.
Lynmouth (Rock House) T. H. Mead-Briggs
Newton Abbot (The Chestnuts) E. D. Wylie
Okehampton (Oaklands) Maj.-Gen. E. H. Holley,R.A., J.P.
Plymouth Observatory H. Victor Prigg, A.M.I.C.E., P.R.Met.Soc.
Plymouth Watershed Frank Howarth, M.Inst.C.E.
Postbridge (Archerton) E. A. Bennett
Princetown (H.M. Prison) George Parry.
Roborough Reservoir
Siward's Cross (monthly) Frank Howarth, M.I.C.E.
Rousdon (The Observatory) C. Grover, observer for Lady Peek
Salcombe J. Partridge
Sidmouth (Sidmount) Miss Constance M. Radford
Simonsbath Rev. H. F. Ramsay
South Brent (Great Aish) Miss C. M. Kingwell.
Tavistock (L. and S.W. Rly. Station) W. J. Monk.
Teignmouth Observatory G. Rossiter
Teignmouth (Benton) W. C. Lake, M.D
Torquay Observatory Frederick March, F.R.Met.Soc.
Torquay Watershed: S. C. Chapman, M.I.C.E.
Torrington, Great (Enfield) George M. Doe
Totnes (Berry Pomeroy) Charles Barran, J.P.
Woolacombe (N. Devon) R. W. Hansford, for Miss Chichester.