Name Index


Thirty-Fourth Report (Third Series) of the
Committee on the Climate of Devon

Trans. Devon Assoc., vol. 48, (1916), pp. 157-160.


R. Hansford Worth (Ed.)

Prepared by Michael Steer

  The report was read at the Association’s July 19th, 1916 Plymouth meeting. The Committee recorded the death of Mr. Thomas Wainwright. Further, two stations were closed: Brandis Corner, where Sir Gerald Corbet, Bart., no longer resided; and Postbridge, Mr. Ellery A. Bennett having ceased to occupy Archerton House. Two new stations appear in the tables, Coplestone House, observer Miss M. Pope; and South Molton, observer Mr. Fred. Day, F.R.G.S. Anno 1915 in Devon was, on the whole a wet one. This report extract will (a) provide names of the Climate Committee members, and (b) a comprehensive list of the Stations at which readings were taken, as well as (c) the names of the observers. The report extract is from a copy of a rare and much sought-after journal that can be downloaded from the Internet Archive. Google has sponsored the digitisation of books from several libraries. These books, on which copyright has expired, are available for free educational and research use, both as individual books and as full collections to aid researchers.
Committee Purpose: To collect and tabulate trustworthy and comparable observations on the climate of Devon.

Committee Members (Page 157):
Mr. J. S. Amery,
Sir Alfred W. Croft,
Mr. Thomas Wainwright,
Mr. R. Hansford Worth (Secretary)

Introduction (Page 170)
Bennett, Mr Ellery A.
Corbet, Sir Gerald, Bart.
Day, Mr Fred. F.R.G.S.
Pope, Miss M.
Wainwright, Mr Thomas


Stations and Observers (Page 159-60)

Stations Observers
Abbotskerswell (Court Grange) Mrs. Marcus Hare.
Ashburton (Druid) J. S. Amery.
Ashburton (West St.) W. J. O. Evans.
Barnstaple Thomas Wainwright.
Bere Alston (Rumleigh) Sir Alfred W. Croft, M.A., K.C.I.E.
Copplestone House Miss M. Pope
Cullompton Murray T. Foster, F.R.Met.Soc.
Dartmoor, Leusdon Vicarage Rev. A. A. Woollcombe.
Devonport Watershed Frank Howarth, M.Inst.C.E.
Exeter (Devon and Exeter Institution) John E. Coombes, Librarian
Holne (Vicarage) The Rev. John Gill, M.A.
Huccaby Mr Wilsons for Capt. H. H. Joll.
Ilfracombe O. Prowse, A.M.I.C.E.
Lynmouth (Rock House) T. H. Mead-Briggs
Newton Abbot (The Chestnuts) E. D. Wylie
Okehampton (Oaklands) Maj.-Gen. E. H. Holley,R.A., J.P.
Plymouth Observatory H. Victor Prigg, A.M.I.C.E.,
Plymouth Watershed Frank Howarth, M.Inst.C.E.
Postbridge (Archerton) E. A. Bennett
Princetown (H.M. Prison) George Parry.
Roborough Reservoir Frank Howarth, M.I.C.E.
Rousdon (The Observatory) C. Grover, observer for Lady Peek
Salcombe J. Partridge
Sidmouth (Sidmount) Miss Constance M. Radford
Simonsbath Rev. H. F. Ramsay
South Brent (Great Aish) Miss C. M. Kingwell.
South Molton Fred Day, F.R.G.S.
Tavistock (L. and S.W. Rly. Station) W. J. Monk.
Teignmouth Observatory G. Rossiter
Teignmouth (Benton) W. C. Lake, M.D
Torquay Observatory Frederick March, F.R.Met.Soc.
Torquay Watershed: S. C. Chapman, M.I.C.E.
Torrington, Great (Enfield) George M. Doe
Totnes (Berry Pomeroy) Charles Barran, J.P.
Woolacombe (N. Devon) R. W. Hansford, for Miss Chichester.