Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Bygone Devonshire - 1896 Index

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Name Index

to

Bygone Devonshire

by

Rev Hilderic Friend

London: William Andrews & Co.
5 Farringdon Ave., E.C., The Hull Press (1898) illus., 249 pp.

Prepared by Michael Steer

The book is one in the "Bygone Series" produced by The Hull Press. To quote from the advertisements in the book, the series "has been favourably reviewed in the leading critical journals of England and America.Carefully written articles by recognised authorities are included on history, castles, abbeys, biography, romantic episodes, legendary lore, traditional stories, curious customs, folk-lore, etc., etc. The works are illustrated by eminent artists, and by the reproduction of quaint pictures of the olden time". The book was produced from a digital copy that can be downloaded from https://archive.org/details/bygonedevonshire00frieuoft
Microsoft (MSN) has sponsored the digitisation of books from several libraries. These books, on which copyright has expired, are available for free educational and research use, both as individual books and as full collections to aid researchers.

 

Contents. Page.
Place-names, rhymes, and reasons 1
Gleanings among church antiquities 24
Some ruined castles 42
Churches as garrisons 61
Brasses, monuments, and epitaphs 74
Church-wardens' accounts and parish registers 91
Curious tenures and peculiar grants 107
Plant-names and flower lore 124
Old-time school life 137
Some old bishop stools, seats, and palaces 152
Old Devonian facts and fancies 170
A brief life-story of the Cathedral 185
In the wake of the monks 196
Bygone worthies 216
A peep at Kent's cavern 231
Literary guides and charts 239
INDEX 251

INDEX

Abbeys and Priories, 196 seq., 243
Abbotsham, 225
Accounts, Churchwardens', 91 seq.
Adder's Meat, 125
Altars, 41, 86
Ambon or Screen, 190
Anchor Rock, 96
Anglo-Saxon Church, 152, 180
Antiquities of the Church, 24 seq.
Archbishops, 223
Architecture, 24 seq.
Armada, 105
Art of Printing, 200
Arum, 125
Ashburton, 20, 69, 82, 142, 248
        Lord, 143, 228
Ashe, 210
Asser, Bishop, 152
Atherington, 38
Authors, 239 seq.
Axminster, 25, 32, 34, 57, 65, 210
Axmouth, 26
Bachelors' Buttons, 128
Bairdown, 11
Baldwin, Archbishop, 223
   ,,   de Brionne, 27
Banners and Arms, 194
Barns of Crediton, 139
Barnstaple, 207
Battle Abbey, 29
Bay and Rosemary, 102
Becky Falls, 20
Belle Tor, 11
Belston Church, 27
Benedictines, 196 seq.
Berry Narbor, 27, 224
Berry Pomeroy, 43
Bibliographical Notes, 239 seq.
Bickleigh Court, 27
Bicton, 116
Bideford, 32, 81, 224, 248
Bigbury, 32, 86
Bishopric, 152 seq.
Bishops Clyst, 115, 166
  ,,   Nympton, 168
  ,,   Tawton, 166
   ,,   Teignton, 166
Bishops and Archbishops
        Asser, 152
        Baldwin, 223
        Brantingham, 38, 85, 191
        Bothe, 191
        Bronescombe, 77, 91, 161
        Courtenay, 39
        Coverdale, 26, 100, 165, 229
        Grandisson, 78, 157, 166, 190
        Jewel, 224
        Lacy, 163
        Langton, 223
        Marshall, 78
        Quivil, 78, 163, 190
        Stafford, 77
        Stapledon, 77, 115
        Voysey(Veysey), 163,169,230
        Warelwast, 78, 188, 208, 209
Bishop stools, 152 seq.
Bishopstowe, 166
Blundells, 142, 145, 223
Bodley (Bodleian), 229
Books on Devon, 239 seq.
Bovey Tracey, 69
Bowerman's Nose, 8
Bradninch, 40
Brampford Speke, 32
Branscombe, 29
Brasses and Tombs, 74
Brixham, 234
Briwere, William de, 205, 212
Buckfastleigh, 303
Buckland, 198
Burials, 99 seq.
Bygone Worthies, 217 seq.
Cadbury, 5, 58
Calvary, 40, 41
Carews, 27, 83
Carys, 206, 226
Castles of Devonshire, 42 seq.
Cathedral (Exeter), 31, 34, 36, 41, 77, 185 seq., 197, 245
Caves, 231
Celtic Influence, 17
Chagford, 111
Chests in Churches, 103
Choir Screen, 190
Choky Bone, 67, 75
Chudleigh, 109, 161, 173, 237
Chumleigh, 37
Church Antiquities, 24, and Place-names, 23, before Reformation, 100
Chests, 103
Crypts, 28, 208
Dedications (See Saints)
Lore, 99, 178
Plate, 100
Pulpits, 32, 34, 66
Churches as Garrisons, 61 seq.
   ,,   Collegiate, 37, 178, 202
   ,,   Peculiar; 178 seq.
   ,,   Pre-Norman, 180
   ,,   Pro-Reformation, 100
Churchwardens' Accounts, 91 seq.
Churston, 181
Cistercians, 196 seq., 209, 243
Clovelly, 226
Cluniac Houses, 243
Clyst, 115, 166
Coffin family, 225
Colcombe, 75
Cold Harbour, 6
Coleridge Church, 37, 86
   ,,   family, 79, 220
Collegiate Churches, 37, 178, 202
Collumpton, 40
Colyton, 67, 75, 80
Combe Martin, 39
Communion, 105
Courtenays, 39, 49, 67, 75, 115
Coverdale, 26, 165, 229
Crediton, 4, 28, 88, 113, 114, 138, 154, 156, 202
Crispin, Thos., 144
Cromwell, 58, 62
Crowdy Kit, 134
Crypts, 28, 208
Cucking Stool, 95
Curious Tenures, 107 seq.
Daccombe, 97
Dartington, 21
Dartmouth, 36, 38, 51, 52, 82, 85
Dawlish, 61, 181
De Briwere, 57, 205, 212, 213
Decorations, 102
Dedications (See Saints)
De Mohun, 210
Denbury, 6, 58, 175
Devon, Earls of, 49, 67, 75
Dewerstone, 9
Dittisham, 96
Doddeton, 213
Dolbury, 5
Dominicans, 214
Drake family, 76; 80, 199, 216, 222
Drewsteignton, 2, 9
Duchess of Orleans, 31
Ducking Stool Bridge, 95
Duke of Somerset, 51
Dunning, Lord Ashburton, 143, 228
Dunkeswell, 212
Dunscombe, 144
Earl of Londonderry, 31
   ,,   Morley, 57
Earls of Devon, 49, 67, 75
Ecclesiastical Architecture, 24
   ,,   Fees, 104
   ,,   See Church
Episcopal Throne, 78
Epitaphs, 74 seq.
Ermington, 86
Exe, 17
Exeter, 28, 30, 34, 35, 36, 41, 46, 64, 77, 91, 112, 149, 159, 172, 185, 246
   ,,   (See Cathedral)
Extinct Animals, 233
Facts and Fancies, 170 seq.
Fairfax, 66, 68 seq.
Famous Yew-trees, 175
Fees of Ecclesiastics, 104
Fenton, 39
Filleigh, 80, 81
Flavel, 88
Flint implements, 233
Flower-Lore, 124 seq.
Flowers in Churches, 102
Floyer Hayes, 118
Folk Etymology, 7
   ,,   lore, 124 seq.
Fonts, 30 seq.
Font-tapers, 106
Ford Abbey, 212
Ford, the Dramatist, 69
French ruse, 72
Frescoes and paintings, 40
Friars and monks, 196 seq.
Friar's Cap, 131
Fritillary, 129, 170
Garrisoned Churches, 61 seq.
Gavelkind, 120
Gidleigh, 58
Gifford, 143
Githa (Gytha), 29, 206
Granville, Sir John, 141
Grammar Schools, 137 seq.
Grants and Tenures, 107
Great Fulford, 69
Grenvilles, 198, 224
Guild Merchants, 204
Haccombe, 84, 178, 183
Harberton, 38
Harford, 89
Hartland Abbey, 35, 87, 206
Hat Laws, 97
Hatherleigh, 6
Heavitree, 2
Hemyock, 57
Henbury, 18
Henrietta, 30
Herb Robert, 128
Herbs in churches, 103
Hervey, James, iJ24
Heytor, 13
Hoker, 47, 174, 223, 238
Holsworthy, 33
Honeyditches, 2
Honiton, 9, 39
Hooker, Richard. 223
Horseshoes on Church doors, 183
Horwood, 183
Hourglass, 35, 102
Iconoclasm, 103
Ilfracombe, 32, 34
Ilsington, 69
Influence of Church, 23
Ireland, Dr., 143
Isle of Lundy, 58, 71
Jewel, Bishop, 224
Judas Candles, 106
Kelly, 19
Kennicott, Dr., 227
Kenton, 38
Kent's Cavern, 231 seq.
Killatree, 19
Killeton, 19
King of the Beggars, 27
Kingsbridge, 144
Kingsley, Chas., 222, 224, 226
Kingswear, 52
Knowle, 19
La pulpytte, 190
Langton, Archbishop, 223
Lazar houses, 170 seq.
Lazarus bell, 130, 170
Leland, 138
Leofric, 159, 186, 197
Leprosy, 130, 170
Levver, 131
Lifton, 113
Literary Guides, 239
Little Choky Bone, 67, 75
Londonderry, Earl of, 31
Lord Briwere, 57, 205, 212
Lundy Island, 58, 71
Lydford, 20, 58
Lynton, 20
Mamhead, 176
Manaton, 8
Marisco, 58, 72
Marwood, 39
Heavy, 27
Membury, 95
Merripit, 11
Merrivale, 11
Merton, 115
Military Lore, 105, 194
Milton Abbot, 93, 110
Minstrels' Gallery, 194
Misereres, 38, 194
Modbury, 207
Molland, 118
Monks and Monasteries, 196 seq., 243
Monuments, 67, 74 seq.
Moretonhampstead, 10, 21, 109
Morley, Earl of, 57
Morthoe, 87
Musbury, 80
Myles Coverdale, 26, 100, 165, 229
Napoleon at Torbay, 68
Nectan, Saint, 88, 207
Newenham Abbey, 209
Newton Abbot, 206, 248
   ,,   Bushell, 248
Norman Remains, 25
North Molton, 34, 41
Noteworthy Fonts, 30 *eq.
Nymet, 168
Nympton, 168
Oaken chests, 103
Oakhampton, 14, 17
Ockington, 15, 21
Ockment, 15, 21
Okehampton, 15, 54, 248 -
Old-time Punishments, 94
   ,,   School-life, 137 seq.
Oreston Cave, 237
Organs, 192, 194
Orgin's tea, 131
Orleans, Duchess of 31,
Otterton, 207
Ottery St. Mary, 62, 79
Paignton, 26, 108, 164
Pair of Organs, 192, 194
Palaces of Bishops, 152 seq.
Paleolithic Man, 236
Parish Registers, 91 seq.
Patteson family, 39
Peculiar Tenures and Grants, 107, 211
   ,,   Churches, 178 seq.
Pengelly, Wm., 231
Penny come-quick, 19
Peter's Farthings, 94, 110
Pillory, 94
Pilton, 35, 102, 172
Pinhoe, 41, 117
Pitfalls of Etymology, 12
Pixies, 133, 237
Place-names, 1, 16, 160, 170
Place-rhymes, 3
Plant-names, 124 seq.
Plymouth, 63, 67, 247
Plympton, 4, 56, 172, 208
Plymtree, 33, 40
Pomeroys, 43 seq.
Portledge, 225
Potheridge, 115
Powderham, 38, 49, 66
Pre-historic man, 232
Premonstratensians, 205
Pre-Norman Churches, 180
Pre-Reformation, 100
Prince, 45, 241
Priories and Abbeys, 208 seq.
Pulpits, 32, 34, 66
Punishments in Olden Times, 94
Registers, 103
Religious Houses, 196, 243
Revelstoke, 67
Reynolds, Sir Joshua, 216
Richard, 46, 53, 112, 113, 118
Rivers and place-names, 17, 20
Rosemary and Bays, 102
Rougemount, 45, 246
Ruddy soil, 46
Ruined Castles, 42 seq.
Saints and Dedications :
        Andrew, 63, 82
        Boniface, 156
        Budeaux, 67, 81
        Clement, 68
        David, 152
        Eustatius, 202
        Gabriel, 77, 189
        Giles, 30
        James, 35
        John, 27, 177, 188
        Lawrence, 32, 37, 86
        Mary, 27, 28, 31, 32, 37, 66, 158, etc.
        Mary Magdalene, 172, 174, 189, 207
        Michael, 29, 39, 63
        Nectan, 88, 207
        Nicholas, 26, 28
        Olave, 29
        Pancras, 29
        Paul, 31, 188
        Peter, 27, 39
        Petrock, 92, 94, 101
        Saviour, 38, 85, 88
        Stephen, 28
        Thomas, 64
        Wynfrid, 156
Saxon place-names, 20
School-Life, 137 seq.
Screens, 35, 36, 190, 194
Sedilia, 77
Shillingford, 22
Shute, 177
Sidbury, 30
Sidmouth, 26
Singular Churches, 178
Slapton, 31, 38, 115
Snowdrift, 134
Somerset, Duke of, 51
South Molton, 33, 34, 113
Spadepenny, 111
Speke, 32
Spinster Rock, 7
Stained Glass, 37
Stannaries, 59, 112
Stapledon, Bishop, 77, 115, 190
   ,,   Walter, 151
Stoke Fleming, 85
   ,,   Gabriel, 177
   ,,   St. Nectan, 33, 35, 41, 83, 88
Stowe, 21
Study of place-names, 6
Tallaton, 111
Tavistock, 140, 199, 207
Teignmouth, 26
Tenures and grants, 107 seq.
Throne, Episcopal, 78
Tiverton, 55, 66, 76, 87, 145, 248
Torquay, 26,31, 180, 231
Torre Abbey, 205
   ,,   Mohun, 31, 119
Torrington, 57, 70, 118
Totnes, 4, 36, 38, 50, 172, 218, 227, 248
Townstall, 68
Tracy, 6, 87
Tumbrel, 96
Ugbrooke House, 84
Vandalism, 103
Venville, 120
Vestments, 100
Veysey (Voysey), Bishop, 163, 169, 230
Wadham, 30
Wake of the monks, 196
Warelwast, Bishop, 78, 188, 208, 209
Wearing hats, 97
Welsh, Vicar, 64
Wembury, 68
Westcote, 223
Western Antiquary, 240, 247
Westofer, William, 76
Whitchurch, 180
Whitepot, 108
Wishing Tree, 43
Wistman's Wood, 2, 18, 178
Withycombe, 112, 177
Woolborough, 206
Worth, Mr., 242 seq. , 247
Worthies of Devon, 216 seq , 233
Wright. Wm., 239, 240
Wynfrid, 156
Yealmpton, 86
Yewton, 114
Yew-trees, 175
Yonge, Dr. James, 108
Zeal Monachorum, 204