Name Index


Twenty-Seventh Report of the Committee on Devonshire Verbal Provincialisms

Trans. Devon Assoc., vol.  44, (1914), pp. 79-92.


Charles H. Laycock (Ed.)

Prepared by Michael Steer

The Committee’s Report was read at its July 1910 Cullompton meeting. The Committee’s purpose was to note and record the current and past use of any Verbal Provincialisms in Devonshire, in either written or spoken language, that were not included in the lists published in the Association’s Transactions. A large number of quotes from Jan Stewer’s periodic contributions on Devonshire dialect to the Western Weekly News were reported during the year to the Committee.  The Report, from a copy of a rare and much sought-after journal can be downloaded from the Internet Archive. Google has sponsored the digitisation of books from several libraries. These books, on which copyright has expired, are available for free educational and research use, both as individual books and as full collections to aid researchers.
Committee Members  — Mr. J. S. Amery, Dr. Brushfield, Mr. R. Pearse Chope, Mr. C. H. Laycock, Rev. G. D, Melhuish, Rev. 0. J. Reichel. Miss Helen Saunders, and Mrs. Rose-Troup; Joint Secretaries: Mr. C. H. Laycock and Rev. 0. J. Reichel.

Adams, Maxwell 79   Southsea, Hants
Alexander, J.J. 79   Tavistock
Chanter, Rev J.F. 80   Parracombe
Chaucer, Geoffrey 87    
Chope, R. Pearse 80   North London
Cotgrave 85    
Croft, Sir Alfred 79   Bere Alston
Doe, George M 80   Great Torrington
Enticott, Eli 90   Axminster
Hewett 86    
Hogg, Nathan 89    
Joce, T.J. 80   Newton Abbot
Larter, Miss C.E. 80   St Marychurch
Laycock, Charles H. 80   Moretonhampstead
Lowe, Harford J. 80    
Melhuish, Rev. D.G 80   Beaworthy
Reichel, Rev. J.O 80   Lympstone
Silk, Albert 83   Axminster
Stewer, Jan 80-5, 87, 91    
Wotton, Enoch 80