Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Ottery St Mary Vicars

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Ottery St Mary Vicars

transcription by

Lora Besler


Transcribed from a stone tablet at the foyer of the church of Ottery St. Mary, and made available with the church's permission.

Early Vicars

1154 William
to 1189
1191 Peter the Clerk (resigned)
1191 Roger the Chaplain
1283 John de Wolfrington
1297 John de Middleton
1310 Gulfridus
1310 John de Thormerton
1335 Oliver de Fayrsy

Wardens of St. Mary's college:

(founded 22nd Jan 1338)
1338 Richard de Gonisale
1349 Henry Bonet
1350 Andrew Attemore
1379 John Coterell
1397 William Slade
1399 John Bokeland
1412 John Tyrel
1415 John Sarger, M.A.
1446 John Hancock, M.A.
1490 Thomas Cornyssh
1511 Thomas Mitchell
1513 Thomas Chard
1518 Walter Dudman, M.A.
1525 Oliver Smythe, M.A.
1544 John Fyssher
(dissolution of college on 24 Dec 1545)

Vicars of Parish church

1550 John Bagster
1580 Ralph Manwayringe, B.A.
1590 Nicholas Forward
1626 John Forward
1661 Melchisedeck Alford
1696 Thomas Gatchell
1713 Hugh Lewes, M.A.
     Richard Jenkinson
1722 Ralph Farthing, L.L.B.
1744 Richard Holme, M.A.
1760 John Coleridge
1781 Fulwood Smerdon
1794 George Smith
1841 Sidney William Cornish, D.D
1874 William Henry Metcalfe, M.A.
1890 Maitland Kelly, M.A.
1900 William Emmanuel Pryke, M.A.
1908 John William Metcalfe, M.A.
1920 Leonard Bristow Stallard, M.A.
1938 Bernard Cecil Jackson,, M.A.
1950 David Rufus Price, B.A.
1978 Peter John McGee, M.A.
1996 Simon George Franklin, B.A.