Hide
Pancrasweek
hide
Hide
hide
- Almanacs◬
- Archives & Libraries◬
- Bibliography◬
- Biography◬
- Business & Commerce Records◬
- Cemeteries
- Census
- Chronology◬
- Church History
- Church Records
- Churches
- Civil Registration◬
- Correctional Institutions◬
- Court Records◬
- Description & Travel
- Directories
- Emigration & Immigration◬
- Encyclopaedias & Dictionaries◬
- Folklore◬
- Gazetteers
- Genealogy
- Handwriting◬
- Heraldry◬
- Historical Geography◬
Hide
Click on map to view parish boundaries in detail.
Hide
Hide
hide
- History
- Jewish History◬
- Land & Property◬
- Language & Languages◬
- Manors◬
- Maps
- Medical Records◬
- Merchant Marine◬
- Military History◬
- Names, Geographical◬
- Names, Personal◬
- Newspapers◬
- Occupations◬
- Periodicals◬
- Politics & Government◬
- Poor Houses, Poor Law◬
- Population◬
- Probate Records◬
- Schools◬
- Social Life & Customs◬
- Societies◬
- Taxation◬
- Voting Registers◬
Hide
"PANCRASWEEK, or Week St . Pancras, a village and parish, on the east side of the Tamar valley, four miles W.N.W. of Holsworthy, has 540 inhabitants, and 3782 acres of land, including the hamlets of Kingford, Dunsdon, and Dexbeer. L.W. Buck, Esq., is lord of the manor, but part of the soil belongs to Earl Stanhope, C.H. Hotchkys, Esq., and a few smaller owners. The Church (St. Pancras,) was anciently appropriated to Tor Abbey, and has a tower and five bells. The living is a perpetual curacy, annexed to Bradworthy vicarage. The Rev. Roger Kingdon is impropriator of the great tithes, which have been commuted for £260, and the small tithes for £100 per annum. The glebe is 7A., and the Parsonage is a small cottage. DIRECTORY: - Wm. Bickley and Nathl. Gilbert, wheelwrights; Robt. Lott and John Jeffrey, blacksmiths; and Jas. Baker, Wm. Burnard, John Gilbert, Rd. Hodge, Jas. Penwarden, and Peter Stacey, farmers. " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]
A parish in Black Torrington Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes and the Diocese of Exeter.
Hide
Whitmore, J.B. Devonshire Monumental Inscriptions, MS at Society of Genealogists (1951). [Extracts]
Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]
Pancrasweek - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).
Shaw, Thomas. Methodism in Pancrasweek: the history of Lana Methodist Church. (1955) 20, (2)p. [Westcountry Studies Library - 287.1/PAN/SHA]
Parish Registers going back to 1653 are held in the Devon Record Office.
Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1653 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.
The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their Devon Parish List.
Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):
- Wesleyan Chapel, Lana Farm: Registers for c1817-37 - see Holsworthy (PRO RG 4/1210)
Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1654-1837 Marriages 1696-1837.
An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Abbots Bickington, Ashwater, Black Torrington, Bradford, Bradworthy, Bridgerule, Clawton, Cookbury, Halwill, Hollacombe, Holsworthy, Luffincott, Milton Damerel, Pancrasweek, Pyworthy, Sutcombe, Tetcott, Thornbury, West Putford and Holsworthy Weslyan Burials. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850), Kelly's Directory of Devonshire (1902) and A Topographical Dictionary of England, Samuel Lewis (1831), CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2014). [Abbots Bickington Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1770-1833 Bur: 1813-1837; Ashwater Bapt: 1813-1841 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Black Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Bradford Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1705-1837; Bradworthy Bapt: 1813-1838 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Bridgerule Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Clawton Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Cookbury Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1813-1841; Halwill Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1843; Hollacombe Bapt: 1813-1898 Mar: 1757-1837 Bur: 1813-1852; Holsworthy Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1860 Bur: 1813-1837; Holsworthy Weslyan Bapt: 1812-1831; Luffincott Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1814-1840; Milton Damerel Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1761-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Pancrasweek Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Pyworthy Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1838; Sutcombe Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Tetcott Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1836 Bur: 1813-1837; Thornbury Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; West Putford Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1838.]
Section on Pancrasweek from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.
Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.
The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Pancrasweek to another place.
The Online Parish Clerk for this parish is Kirsty Gray, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: PRs on Fiche.)
Williams, H. Fulford. Notes on the Parish of Pancrasweek, Devon. Typescript (1963) 6 leaves. [Westcountry Studies Library]
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SS296058 (Lat/Lon: 50.826595, -4.420837), Pancrasweek which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.