South Ham District

Devon & Cornwall Notes and Queries vol. VI, (January 1910 to October 1911), pp. 110-111.


Oswald J Reichel

Prepared by Michael Steer

South Hams is a local government district administered partly by South Hams District Council, with headquarters in Totnes, and partly by Devon County Council in Exeter. The area also contains the towns of Dartmouth, Kingsbridge, Salcombe and Ivybridge, the last of which is the largest, with a current population of about 12,000. The article, from a copy of a rare and much sought-after journal can be downloaded from the Internet Archive. Google has sponsored the digitisation of books from several libraries. These books, on which copyright has expired, are available for free educational and research use, both as individual books and as full collections to aid researchers.

Note 112. SOUTH HAM DISTRICT. - It would be a great kindness if anyone conversant with this district could identify one or two properties there situate. 

1. The fee-lists know a Washbourn Bauzan, a Washbourn Durrant and a Washbourn Water or Wyet, all held of the honour of Hurberton ; and in addition there seems to have been another Washbourn not in the fee-lists belonging to the honour of Gloucester, in Domesday, held by Joscelm, and therefore to be looked for among estates of Domene or Champernoun. On the maps I can only find two Washburtons, one an outlier of Ashprington, the other an outlier of Harberton. These I take to be Washbourn Bauzan and Washbourn Durrant. But (1) which is which? (2) Where are the other two Washbourns?

2. The fee-lists also know of two Stancombes, one held of the honour of Totten, and called Stancombe Crespin; the other held of the honour of Plymton, and called Stancombe Prior. There is a Stancombe in Harberton and a Stancombe in Sherford on the map. But which is which?

                                                  Oswald J. Reichel.