Open a form to report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Parish Church of St Andrew, List of Clergy

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Parish Church of St Andrew, South Tawton

List of Clergy

transcribed by

John Williams

       1262 Nov 23rd Nicholas Lungespeye (to the Rectory)
1262 Nov 23rd Alan de Yeteminstre (to the Vicarage)
1263 Dec 24th Gilbert de Yeteminstre
1264 Oct 18th John de Henleche
1273 Aug 12th Dominus -------------
1282 Dec 28th Walter de Braybroke
----------------- Lawrence
----------------- Hugh de Leminstre
1310 May 26th Geoffrey de Tony
1314 Apr 26th Nicholas Walwyn
1342 June 23rd Thomas de Vastone
1344 July 25th John de Chalvestone
1347 Jan 4th William de Brumptone
1349 Dec 17th William de Colebeare
1368 Oct 16th Phillip Pampillon
1392 Mar 15th Geoffrey Lange
1411 Dec 20th Richard Man
1416 July 15th John Hegneh
1458 Oct 17th John Pytte
1468 Aug 19th John Newcombe
1469 Nov 17th Walter Rondell
1499 May 10th Richard Colman
------------------ John Shere
1503 Nov 18th Richard Wekys
1558 Dec 7th John Servys
1576 Mar 16th John Brawlerde
1582 Nov 21st John Wykes M.A.
-------------- Walter Ware
-------------- George Bearde
1607 Aug 21st Henry Bowker B.A.
1613 May 17th Richard Curson M.A.
1622 Sep 4th John Beard
1625 Dec 3rd Arthur Campian
---------------- Thomas Mainwaring
1654 Dec 8th Benjamin Harrison
---------------- William Parsons
1678 Aug 30th Thomas Bowen B.A.
1681 Sep 2nd Lawrence Colborne M.A.
1699 Aug 12th Stephen Morehouse
1716 Apr 27th John Maynard M.A.
1717 Sep 4th John Nosworthy B.A.
1753 Oct 10th Edmund Troll LI.D
1754 Mar 22nd Thomas White M.A.
1787 Jul 24th Thomas Prevost M.A.
1791 Oct 21st George Lancelot Armstrong B.A.
1803 Oct 13th Thomas Freke B.A.
1824 Nov 13th William Birkett M.A.
1831 Nov 16th Thomas Birkett
1857 Jan 17th Thomas Sleeman
1860 Nov 6th Thomas Collingwood Hughes B.A.
1872 Jul 9th John Bliss M.A.
1880 May 15th John Foulkes Clarke B.A.
1907 Jul 19th Thomas Francis Boultbee M.A.
1916 Sep 5th Edward Foley Ball M.A.
1931 Apr 9th Ernest Allen Thornton L.Th.
1933 Nov 11th Charles Kingsley Burton M.A.
1953 Apr 16th Joseph Lawrence Mallett M.A.
1961 Mar 11th Peter Alfred Apps M.A.
1980 Apr 1st John Frederick Alexander Ellis
1988 Sep 20th Neil H. Bliss
1994 Jul 20th Barry Wood
2003 Jun 6th Michael Thayer

In 1348 the rectory and advowson of South Tawton were transferred from the Lords of the Manor
to the newly re-funded college of the King's Free Chapel of St George in Windsor Castle.