"TEIGNMOUTH, A market town in the hundred of Exminster, is situated, as its name implies, at the mouth of the Teign, and is sheltered on all sides by hills, except towards the sea. . . . A small brook divides the town into two parishes West and East Teignmouth; the former a manor of Lord Clifford's and the latter of Courtenay. The eastern part of the town is the principal resort of company, where the public rooms are situated, a neat building, containing tea, coffee, assembly, and billiard rooms. . . . Near the centre of West Teignmouth is situated the new church, dedicated to St James, erected on the site of the old, in form an octagon, but in very bad taste. East Teignmouth church, now pulled down for the erection of a new edifice, was probably one of the earliest structures built after the coming of the Normans, and was dedicated to St Michael. The trade of Teignmouth consists chiefly of commercial intercourse with Newfoundland; the exportation of clay and granite, and the importation of coal, is carried on principally in craft, built at the place, where are yards for launching vessels of 3 to 400 tons. . . . The population is 3980."
Teign Heritage Centre website - with details of their publications.
Best, Alan. The Diaries of Albert Best, A Resident of Teignmouth (Part 1: 9th December 1865 - 31st December 1899), Torbay Printing Services (2008) 118 pp. [ISBN 1 869986 07 5] [Extracts, including a listing of deaths.]
Collins, John. The two forgers: a biography of Harry Buxton Forman & Thomas James Wise. Aldershot: Scolar Press (1992) xiv, 317p: ill. [ISBN 0859677540]
Dymond, Robert. Thomas Luny, Marine Painter. Trans. Devon. Assoc. vol. 18 (1886), pp. 443-449. [Index]
Dymond, Robert. Thomas Luny, Marine Painter. Part II. Trans. Devon. Assoc. vol. 19, (1887), pp. 107-190. [Index]
Harpley, W. Roger Willcocks [Obituary]. Trans. Devon. Assoc., 1877, Vol IX, p.61. [Transcript]
Harpley, W. James George John Templer, M.A [Obituary]. Trans. Devon. Assoc., 1883, Vol XV, p.65. [Transcript]
Harpley, W. Henry Anson Cartwright M.A [Obituary]. Trans. Devon. Assoc., 1884, Vol XVI, pp. 52-53. [Transcript]
Harpley, W. R.M. Marsh-Dunn, [Obituary]. Trans. Devon. Assoc., 1885, Vol XVII, p.66. [Transcript]
Harpley, W. Captain Henry Bathurst, [Obituary]. Trans. Devon. Assoc., 1887, Vol XIX, p.39. [Transcript]
Harpley, W. George Wareing Ormerod, M.A., F.G.S., [Obituary]. Trans. Devon. Assoc., 1891, Vol XXIII, pp. 108-110. [Transcript]
Hudson, Derek. A poet in parliament: the life of Winthrop Mackworth Praed, 1802-1839. London: Murray (1939) xii, 268, 8 leaves of pl. [Westcountry Studies Library - 828/PRA]
Northcote, Virginia Jane. Yours sincerely, Morgan Giles, The Shipyard, Teignmouth 1920-1964. Great Torrington: Northcote (1995) 40p: ill. [ISBN 0722329121]
Edward Gulson [Obituary]. Trans. Devon. Assoc., 1875, Vol VII, pp. 50-51. [Transcript]
John Parson [Obituary]. Trans. Devon. Assoc., 1875, Vol VII, pp. 57-58. [Transcript]
Teignmouth Cemetery Burials 1881-1994. CD006, Devon Family History Society (2006) [A collection of over 12,300 records extracted from the Cemetery Registers.]
Benedictine Nuns. Congregation of Saint Scholastica. A history of the Benedictine nuns of Dunkirk: now at St. Scholastica's Abbey, Teignmouth, Devon. London: Burns & Oates,1958, xvii, 209 pp.,  leaves of plates: ill., ports.
James, Gillian M. In every generation: the story of the development of Methodism in Teignmouth. Teignmouth: The Author (1995) iv, 92p; ill, maps, plans. [Westcountry Studies Library - p287.1/TEI/JAM]
Walter, Jacobson. Around the Churches of the Teign Valley, (2000). [ISBN 1899073868] [Devon FHS Library p942.35/TEI]
Teignmouth churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records) other than the East and West Teignmouth parish churches:
- Roman Catholic Mission for French Emigres 1794-1815: Early entries in Ugbrooke parish registers
- Zion Congregational Chapel, Dawlish Road: Registers for 1804-36 (C), 1809-36 (B) in PRO RG 4/453
- Teignmouth Wesleyan Circuit and Chapel: Registers for 1813-37 (ZC) 1824-33 (B) in PRO RG 4/1220; 1813-1820, 1837-1899 (C), 1838-53 (B) at DRO
Official Town Council Website - Local Community, Business and Tourist Information.
Section on Teignmouth from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.
Teignmouth, from Wikipedia.
Transcription of the full entry from Pigot's Directory, 1823-24, by Diana Stevens.
Barber, Chips and Sally. Around and about Teignmouth and Shaldon. Exeter: Obelisk Publications (1993) 32p: ill, (some col). [ISBN 0946651795]
Black, Jeremy. The development of the Devon Riviera. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 35:10, (1986) pp.393.
Carrington, N.T. The Teignmouth, Dawlish and Torquay guide. Teignmouth: E.Croydon (1830) 230p: folded map. [Westcountry Studies Library - DEV/1829/CAR]
Chard, Judy. Along the Teign, Bodmin, Bossiney Books (1981) 104p: ill, map. [ISBN 090645655x] [Westcountry Studies Library B/TEI 3/1981/CHA]
Crossing, William. The Teign from moor to sea, (1986) 64p: ill. [ISBN 1870083059] [Westcountry Studies Library sB/TEI 3/1986/CRO]
Croydon, E and G.H. The Teignmouth Guide: Containing A Description of the Town, and of the Places and Remarkable Points of Interest in the Neighbourhood. The Excursions and Walks, Climate, &c. &c. By Several Literary Gentlemen (14th ed.) Teignmouth: E.Croydon (c1850) 174p: folded map. [Surname Index]
George, Eric A. Teignmouth, South Devon resort by the sea, river and countryside. Devon Life vol. 8 no. 62 (1971) pp.26-28; ill.
Hallworth, Rodney. The ancient salt city - Teignmouth. Devon Life vol. 2 no. 13, (1966) pp.13-19; ill.
Haseler, H. and Cornish, H. Scenery on the Southern Coast of Devonshire: Comprising Picturesque Views at or near the Fashionable Watering Places, Sidmouth, Budleigh Salterton, Exmouth, Dawlish, Teignmouth, and Torquay, Sidmouth, John Wallis (1819) 30p., 30 plates.
Maxwell, R.D. Teignmouth through a camera. Birmingham: J.L. Allday [1912?] p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/TEI 7/1912/MAX]
Noble, W.B. A Guide to the Watering Places on the Coast, between the Exe and the Dart; Including Teignmouth, Dawlish and Torquay, Teignmouth, E. Croydon (1821) 203 pp.
Pearson's gossipy guide to South Devon including Torquay, Teignmouth...Salcombe etc, London, C. Arthur Pearson  180p: ill, map. [Westcountry Studies Library sDEV/1900/PEA]
Spearman, Margaret. Wish you were here. Devon Life vol. 6 no. 46 (1970) pp.34-36; ill.
Tozer, Bazil. Mate's illustrated Teignmouth: a pictorial and descriptive memoir. Bournemouth: W.Mate (1902) p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/TEI 7/1902/TOZ]
A pictorial and descriptive guide to Teignmouth and the south Devon coast from the Axe to the Teign. (4th ed). London: Ward, Lock and Co.  1 vol: ill, maps. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/TEI 7/1906/PIC]
Teignbridge from Dartmoor to the sea at Teignmouth and Dawlish, South Devon, Newton Abbot, Teignbridge (1979) , 108p: ill, map. [Westcountry Studies Library sB/TEI 4/1979/TEI]
Nelson's guide to Torquay and Exeter, including Dawlish, Teignmouth, Exmouth and Sidmouth, London, Thomas Nelson & Sons (1908) 64p, 3pls: ill, map. [Westcountry Studies Library B/TOR 7/1908/NEL]
Transcript of entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.
The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Teignmouth to another place.
This is one of the growing number of places for which the Devon Heritage website provides census or parish register transcriptions, articles, and/or illustrations, etc.
Varilone, Beryl. The Rendles of Teignmouth, Devon Family Historian, vol. 130, (2009) pp.24-25.
You can see the administrative areas in which Teignmouth has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
Barber, Chips and Judy Chard. Tales of the Teign. Pinhoe, Exeter: Obelisk Publications. [ISBN 0946651809].
Barber, Chips. Teign Valley of Yesteryear, Pinhoe, Obelisk Publications (1994) 32p: chiefly ill. [ISBN 1899073086] [Westcountry Studies Library pB/TEI 35/1900/BAR]
Barber, Chips. Teign Valley of Yesteryear: Part 2, Pinhoe, Obelisk Publications (1996) 32p: chiefly ill. [ISBN 1899073353] [Westcountry Studies Library pB/TEI 35/1900/BAR]
Bulley, John A. Teignmouth in history. Torquay: Devonshire Press (1955) 44p, plates: ill, map. [Westcountry Studies Library - B/TEI 7/0001/BUL]
Bulley, John A. Teignmouth as a seaside resort (before the coming of the railway). Trans. Devon. Assoc. 88, (1956) pp.143-162, plates: ill, map. [1762-1845]
Carpenter, Brian. Cricket in Teignmouth, 1773. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 37:07, (1995) pp.218-20.
Cresswell, Beatrix F. Teignmouth: its history & its surroundings. London: Homeland Association (1901) 126p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - B/TEI 7/1901/CRE]
Gosling, Gerald. Dawlish & Teignmouth From Old Photographs, Amberley Publishing (2011) 160 pp.
Griffiths, Grace. History of Teignmouth. Bradford on Avon: Ex Libris,1989, 159 pp. ill., 2 maps, 1 port. ISBN: 0948578173 (pbk).
Jordan, W.R. Hall. Teignmouth gleanings. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 36, (1904) pp.113-115. [Index]
Lake, W.C. Sketch of the History of Teignmouth. Trans. Devon Assoc. (1874).
Lake, W.C. Ancient Teignmouth. Trans. Devon Assoc. (1904). [Index]
Parry, Hubert. Notes on old Teignmouth. Exeter: W.J.Southwood (1914) 59p ; plates. [Westcountry Studies Library - sxB/TEI 7/0001/PAR]
Pearson, Ann. Visitors Guide to Teignmouth South Devon, (1985). [ISBN 0 9510492 0 8]
Pearson, Ann. Teignmouth in old picture postcards. Zaltbomel: European Library (1986) 76p: chiefly ill. [ISBN 9028833676]
Pengelly, W. Teignmouth visited by the Danes, AD. 787? In Miscellaneous Devonshire Gleanings, Trans. Devon Assoc., 1881, Vol XIII., pp. 139-146. [Index]
Selley, Maureen. A Nineteenth Century NIMBY - William Mackworth Praed, Devon Family Historian, vol. 131, (August 2009) pp.38. [On his objection in 1846 to the South Devon Railway Company's plans to route their railway through Teignmouth.]
Thomas, S.F. Early history of the Teignmouth Regatta. Teignmouth: The Author  24p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - p797.14/TEI/THO]
Trump, Harold J. Teignmouth. Chichester: Phillimore (1986) 140p, p of pl: ill. [ISBN 0850335590]
Wilson, Viv. From Teignmouth - with love. Exeter: Obelisk,1993, 32 pp. ISBN: 094665171X (pbk):.
Wilson, Viv. Teignmouth in old picture postcards, Vol 2. Zaltbomel: European Library (1996) 80p: chiefly ill. [ISBN 9028862617]
Wilson, Viv. Teignmouth, The Archive Photo Series, Tempus Publishing (1997). [ISBN 0 7524 0761 9]
Wilson, Viv. Teignmouth at War 1939-1945, vol 1, Viv Wilson (2000) 156pp.
Wilson, Viv. Teignmouth at War, vol 2 , Viv Wilson (2002) 154pp.
Wilson, Viv. Teignmouth Pier: A Pictorial History, Viv Wilson (2002) 128p. [ISBN 0-9539523-2-0]
Wilson, Viv. Teignmouth and its People, 1935 to 1953, Viv Wilson (2005) 154 pp. [ISBN 0-9539523-3-9]
Gems of Teignmouth, a collection of sepia photographs. [s.l.]: [s.n.] (1900) 15p: of plates. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/TEI 7/1900/GEM]
Revised list of buildings of ... historic interest ... District of Teignbridge, Devon: town of Teignmouth and parish of Shaldon. London: The Department of National Heritage (1996) , 193p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx720.9/TEI/DEP]
Map of the area from OldeMaps (circa 1950).
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SS887140 (Lat/Lon: 50.914698, -3.584622), Teignmouth which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
The History and Development of Teignmouth Docks - by Julie D. Goucher.
Morris, Jeff. The history of the Teignmouth lifeboats. Coventry: [J.Morris] (1992) , 42p: ill, map. [Westcountry Studies Library - p614.84/TEI/MOR]
Smee, Marilyn. The Newfoundland Connection with Teignmouth and Shaldon in South Devon, Devon Family Historian, vol. 155, (2015) pp.9-10.
Trump, Harold J. The port of Teignmouth and the Teignmouth Harbour Commission, 1836-1932. Maritime History, v.4 (1974) pp49-64: ill.
Trump, Harold J. The port of Teignmouth, Devon: a study in local maritime history. Typescript [1975?] 241, leaves. [Westcountry Studies Library - s387.1/TEI/TRU]
Trump, Harold J. Westcountry harbour: the port of Teignmouth 1690-1975. Teignmouth: Brunswick Press (1976) 206p: ill, maps. [ISBN 0904268012]
Wilson, Viv. Burton's bounty: the story of Teignmouth's mysterious wreck. Teignmouth: The Author (1993) iii, 62p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - p627.703/TEI/WIL]
Lake, W.C. Notes on the origin of the streets of Teignmouth and on their nomenclature. Trans. Devon. Assoc. Vol 22. (1890), illus. pp. 111-128. [Index]
Clark, Stafford. Mining and quarrying in the Teign Valley, Chudleigh, Orchard (1995) [iii], 61p: ill, maps. [ISBN 189896419x] [Westcountry Studies Library s622/TEI/CLA]
Radford, Arthur. The history of Tozers solicitors 1785-1985. Typescript (1988) 150p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx347.016/TEI/RAD]
Schmitz, Christopher J. Teign valley silver-lead mines, 1806-1880 (2nd ed.), Sheffield, N. Mine Research Soc. (1980) , vi, 121, , pls: ill. [ISBN 0901450189] [Westcountry Studies Library x622.342/TEI/SCH]
Will of Robert Pearce (1849), transcribed by Ros Dunning.
Trinity School Teignmouth - web-site.
Stevenson, John A. Teignmouth Grammar School: the first fifty years, a short history. Dawlish: W.J. Holman (1970) 37p, plates: ports. [Westcountry Studies Library - 373/TEI/STE]
Teignmouth Freemasons - history of the Benevolent Lodge.