Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for West Alvington

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

West Alvington

"ALVINGTON, WEST (ALL SAINTS), a parish, in the union of KINGSBRIDGE, hundred of STANBOROUGH, Stanborough and Coleridge, and S. divisions of DEVON, 1 mile (W. S. W.) from Kingsbridge; containing 998 inhabitants. It comprises 3676 acres; the surtace is very hilly, and the soil chiefly arable, and a large quantity of peculiarly fine cider is made. . . . The church contains some good screen-work in carved oak, an ancient stone font, and a beautiful monument to some member of the Bastard family, whose ancient seat has been converted into a farm-house. " [From Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of England (1844)]

A parish in Stanborough Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes, and the Diocese of Exeter. Regarded as part of the South Hams area.

topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Square, J. Harris. Epitaphs from Churches, Churchyards and Burial Places in the Following Parishes: Kingsbridge, South Milton, East Allington, Dodbrooke, Malborough, Blackawton, West Alvington, Sherford, Charleton, Thurlestone, Churchstow, East Portlemouth. Devonshire Association Trans. 29 (1897) pp.182-215. [Index]

topup

Census

Transcription of the Malborough village section of the 1841 census for the parish, from the Parishes of the South Hams website.

Transcription of the 1861 Census, RG9/1424 Enumeration District 2 - by Kathryn Barnett

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the West Alvington area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

West Alvington - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Hingeston- Randolph, Francis Charles. The rectors and patrons of Alvington. Exeter: William Pollard & Co. (1894) [Westcountry Studies - s922.3]
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1558 are held in the Devon Record Office.

The Society of Genealogists holds copies of the parish registers containing Christenings (1558-1853), Marriages (1558-1947) and Burials (1558-1943).

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Indexes to baptisms for (1558-1740), baptisms for (1741-1812), baptisms for (1813-1881), banns for (1837-78), and burials for (1720-1848) from the Parishes of the South Hams website.

Nothing entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993).

Granville, Roger & Mugford, W.E. (eds.) West Alvington, 1628. Abstracts of the Existing Transcripts of the Lost Parish-Registers of Devon, 1596-1644, and short notes on the extant pre-reformation registers of all the parishes in the county, from particulars furnished by the several incumbents thereof. Vol. 1 A-Bra. Exeter: W. Pollard (1908) [Full text].
Deanery of Woodleigh Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837 and Burials 1813-1988 - CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2006). [Index of Aveton Gifford: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Bigbury: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837), Buckland-Tout-Saints: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1818-1822), Burials (1813-1988), Charleton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1780-1812), Chivelstone: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1800-1837), Churchstow: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1848), Dodbrooke: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), East Allington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), East Portlemouth: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Kingsbridge: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Kingsbridge Ind.: Burials (1793-1897), Loddiswell: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Malborough: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Moreleigh: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Ringmore: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1764-1814), Salcombe: Baptisms (1813-1839), Sherford: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1800-1837), Slapton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), South Huish: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1856), South Milton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1838), South Pool: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1838), Stokenham: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Stokenham Ind.: Burials (1795-1836), Thurlstone: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1838), West Alvington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Woodleigh: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837)]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on West Alvington  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of West Alvington which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcription of the entry in White's Devonshire Directory (1850) by Terry Partridge.

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

Scanned image of Kelly's Directory entry (1923), from the Parishes of the South Hams website.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from West Alvington to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

This parish is one of the growing number of places for which the Devon Heritage website provides census or parish register transcriptions, articles, and/or illustrations, etc.

The South Hams Genealogical Information Resource website offers lookups in their records concerning this parish.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which West Alvington has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Taylor, James Stephen. Poverty in Rural Devon, 1780-1840 (2 vols.), Ph.D Thesis, Stanford University, CA (1966). [Devon R.O. - Includes chapters on Bradford and West Alvington]
topup
topup

Names, Personal

West Alvington contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

topup

Taxation

Window Tax records for 1773-91 are held by the Devon Record Office.