Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for West Buckland

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

West Buckland

"BUCKLAND, (WEST) is a small parish and village, 6 miles N.W. by N. of South Molton, comprising 275 souls, and about 1700A. of land. Jas. George, Esq., is lord of the manor, but a great part of the soil belongs to Earl Fortescue and the Rev. J. Buckingham. The Church (St. Peter,) has a tower and five bells, and the living is a rectory, valued in K.B. at £13. 3s. 4d., and in 1831 at £220, in the patronage of Lord de Dunstanville, and incumbency of the Rev. Walter Gee, B.D., of St. Mary Week, Cornwall. The glebe is 30A., and the parsonage is a good residence." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Braunton Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Incledon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the West Buckland area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1625 are held in the Devon Record Office.

West Buckland Baptisms for 1725-1850, Marriages for 1726-1855 and Burials for 1750-1860, transcribed by Lindsey Withers.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1840, Marriages 1754-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1801-37 - see Barnstaple Circuit (PRO RG 4/954)

Nothing transcribed into the IGI (as of Jan 1993).

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Arlington, Ashford, Berrynarbor, Bittadon, Bratton Fleming, Braunton, Brendon, Challacombe, Charles, Combe Martin, Countisbury, East Buckland, East Down, Georgeham, Goodleigh, Heanton Punchardon, High Bray, Ilfracombe, Kentisbury, Loxhore, Lynton, Martinhoe, Marwood, Mortehoe, Parracombe, Shirwell, Stoke Rivers, Trentishoe, West Buckland and West Down. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850) and Kelly's Directory of Devonshire (1902), CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2015). [Arlington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1814-1837; Ashford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1747-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Berrynarbor Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bittadon Bapt: 1813-1843, Mar: 1754-1835, Bur: 1815-1843; Bratton Fleming Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Braunton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Brendon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Challacombe Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1822-1848; Charles Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Combe Martin Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Countisbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Buckland Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1813-1839; East Down Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1839, Bur: 1813-1852; Georgeham Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Goodleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Heanton Punchardon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; High Bray Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Ilfracombe Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Kentisbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1841, Bur: 1813-1837; Loxhore Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Lynton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Martinhoe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Marwood Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Mortehoe Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1750-1837; Parracombe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1598-1838, Bur: 1813-1838; Shirwell Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Stoke Rivers Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Trentishoe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; West Buckland Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1851; West Down Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1840.]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on West Buckland from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of West Buckland which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcript of complete entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from West Buckland to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which West Buckland has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Peter Christie, Oral History and a Tithe Dispute at West Buckland in 1579, Devon Family Historian, No. 69, Feb. 1994, pp. 32-35.
topup

Land and Property

Payne, Barbara (ed.). Huxtable, East Buckland: the story of a North Devon farm and its neighbourhours. West Buckland: The Editor (1993) [iii], 104p: ill, maps, plans. [ISBN 0952105500]
topup
topup

Names, Personal

West Buckland contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

Ryall, David. Lest We Forget, War memorials around South Molton. South Molton Archive, 68pp. [ISBN 0 951236 1 4] [Provides an indexed list of names]
topup

Schools

Baxter, E.A. (comp.). West Buckland school and Old Boys Association: a scrapbook covering period 1920's to 1960's. [1920] 1 vol. [Barnstaple Library - 373.22/WES/BAX]
Delderfield, R.F. Tales out of school: an anthology of West Buckland reminiscences 1895-1963. St. Austell: H.E.Warne (1963) 79p, plates: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - 373.22/WES/DEL]
Edmunds, Jon. A history of West Buckland School. Barnstaple: Aycliffe Press (1983) 120p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - s373.22/WES/EDM]
'Friends and Pupils'. West Buckland Sschool 1858 - 1958; A Review of a Century recorded by Friends and Pupils, Ilfracombe, (1958) Illusts, 143 pp.
West Buckland year book and kalendar for 1857. South Molton: W.Tucker (1857) [171]p: ill, 2 of pls. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/WES 2/1857/WES] [Index]
West Buckland year book and kalendar for 1860. West Buckland: Farm & Cou.Sch. (1860) 176, 42p, pl: col ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/WES 2/1860/WES]
West Buckland School: a review of a century recorded by friends and pupils [1858-1958]. Ilfracombe: Chronicle Press (1958) 143p: ill. [Barnstaple Library - 373.222/BN: WES 2/WES]
West Buckland School register. West Buckland]: The School (1863-) 20p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/WES 2/1860/WES]
West Buckland School Roll of Honour 1914-1918. West Buckland: The School (1926) 20p. [Westcountry Studies Library - s940.467/WES/WES]
topup

Societies

South Molton and District Archive Local History Society web-site (archived copy) - provides details of archive holdings for the twenty-eight parishes in what used to be the South Molton Rural District, lists of publications, etc.