Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Hurworth

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Hurworth

Primary tabs

"This parish, which comprises the townships of Hurworth and Neasham, is bounded on the north by Haughton-le-Skerne and Sadberge, on the north-west and west by Darlington, on the south by a small portion of Sockburn and the river Tees, and on the east by Dinsdale. It contains 2274 statute acres, and its value is £12,268.

"The village of Hurworth is pleasantly situated near the river Tees, three and a half miles south-south-east of Darlington, and about one mile east of Croft Bridge. It extends for a considerable distance along the Tees, and the view on the opposite side of the river comprises a well-wooded amphitheatre, of about four miles in circumference. Many of the houses are well built, and the village is remarkable for its salubrity, and the environs are adorned with several spacious and elegant family mansions.

"Hurworth Place is a village in this township, situated at the north end of Croft Bridge, three and three-quarter miles south of Darlington, and opposite to the village of Croft, in Yorkshire. The place has rapidly increased in size and population since the formation of the Croft branch of the Stockton and Darlington Railway. The Tees is here crossed by Croft Bridge, which connects the countries of Durham and York, and consists of seven arches. The bridge is maintained at the joint expense of the two counties. The blue stone, or boundary, is over the third arch from the Durham side."

[From History, Topography and Directory of Durham, Whellan , London, 1894]

topup

Cemeteries

The monumental inscriptions in the churchyard have been transcribed, indexed and published by the Cleveland Family History Society.

topup

Census

"The number of inhabitants in 1801 was 661; in 1811, 692; in 1821, 811; in 1831, 1017; in 1841, 1235; in 1851, 1154; in 1861, 1192; in 1871, 1357; in 1881, 1519; and in 1891, 1439 souls."

[From History, Topography and Directory of Durham, Whellan , London, 1894]

The 1851 Census Index (booklet 50) published by the Cleveland Family History Society and may be of value to researchers interested in this parish.

topup

Church History

"All Saints' Church - This handsome edifice is situated on a most picturesque site, being built on a high bank, or cliff, overlooking the Tees valley, of which, from this spot, a fine view is obtained. The only remaining portions of the original building now remaining are the western tower, in the Early English style, and the nave piers, which seem to belong to the Norman Transitional period. In 1871 the church was carefully restored, and now consists of nave, aisles, transepts, chancel, chancel aisles and south porch. The restoration may be said to include the several periods of Gothic architecture, from the Later Norman to the Perpendicular. The architectural difficulties consequent upon efficient restoration are not easy to overcome, but in this instance a happy combination has been effected."

[From History, Topography and Directory of Durham, Whellan , London, 1894]

There is a picture (26 kbytes) of the parish church of All Saints, Hurworth; supplied by Paul R. Joiner.

topup

Church Records

"The parish registers commence in 1559." [From History, Topography and Directory of Durham, Whellan , London, 1894]

The Parish Registers for the period 1559-1986 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Hur)

Marriage indexes for 1559-1837 (44 kbytes) from the George Bell Collection of Durham and Northumberland Indexes.

The Marriages (1559-1837) are included in the Joiner Marriage Index.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Hurworth which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Hurworth to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Hurworth has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup