"CWMYOY, a parish partly in the lower division of the hundred of Abergavenny, in the county of Monmouth, and partly in the hundred of Ewyaslacy, in the county of Hereford, 5½ miles N. of Abergavenny, and 3 from the nearest station of the West Midland railway. It is situated on the river Honthy, near a branch of the river Monnow, and contains Fwthog and Bwlch-Trewyn. The country is hilly and picturesque. The parish is separated into upper and lower divisions, and extends along the borders of Herefordshire.
The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Llandaff, value £200, in the patronage of John Williams, Esq. The church is dedicated to St. Michael. A National school was built in 1858. There are remains of an abbey founded in 1108 by Hugh de Lacy, who dedicated it to St. John the Baptist, and gave it to the Canons Regular of the Order of St. Augustine. It afterwards took the name of Llantony Abbey, and considerably declined, so that its revenues amounted only to £100 at the time of the Dissolution. The ruins, which stand near the centre of the parish, are in a tolerable state of preservation."
"BWLCH-TREWYN, a township in the parish of Cwmyoy, hundred of Ewyas-Lacy, in the county of Hereford, 5 miles to the N. of Abergavenny. It is seated on the river Monnow, a branch of the Wye."
"FWTHOG, a hamlet in the parish of Cwmyoy, hundred of Ewyas-Lacy, county Hereford, 6 miles N. of Abergavenny. It is situated near the river Huntley."
"TOOTHOG, a township in the parish of Cwmyoy, hundred of Ewyaslacy, county Hereford, 10 miles N.W. of Abergavenny."