Moreton Jeffries, Herefordshire - Post Office Directory, 1863
Extract from Post Office Directory of Herefordshire, 1863Transcription by Barbara Haner © 2004
MORETON JEFFRIES is a small parish, distant 5½ miles south-west-by-west from Bromyard (its post town), and 8½ north-east from Hereford, in Radlow hundred, Bromyard union and county court district, and Hereford deanery, archdeaconry and bishopric; it is situated amidst picturesque scenery, at a little distance west of the Hereford and Bromyard turnpike road.. The church (name unknown) is a small stone building in the modern architecture having a small tower with 2 bells, and an open porch; the interior consists of nave, chancel, a plain font, and three monuments to the memory of the family of Westwood, once proprietors of the whole parish. The living is a perpetual curacy worth £50 yearly, from augmentations of Queen Anne's Bounty, in the patronage of the Dean and Chapter of Hereford; the rectorial tithes are commuted at £95.15s.; the Rev. Thomas Hugh Bird, M.A., of Westhide, a surrogate, is the incumbent. The population in 1861 was 41; the area is 703a. 2r. 8p. The soil is stiff clay. There are only three farm houses, of which Moreton Court, situated near the church, is the principal. John Morley, Esq., is owner of the parish. The chief crops are hops, apples, wheat and beans.
Parish Clerk, John Bowcott.
Morley John esq. Moreton cottage
Dent George, farmer, Moreton court
Meredith Jane (Mrs.), farmer, The Knapp
Sirrell James, farmer, Tack farm
Letters per foot post through Bromyard, which is the nearest money order office
[Transcribed by Barbara E. Haner in May 2004
from a personal copy of Post Office Directory of Herefordshire, 1863]