"Baldock is a market town and parish, in the hundred of Broadwater, 37 miles N. from London, 18 N. by W. from Hertford, 21. S.S.W. from Cambridge, and eight S.S.E. from Biggleswade, in Bedfordshire. It is a neat, open, and well-built town, situated in a fertile valley, surrounded by chalky hills; the north road from london to Edinburgh passing through it, and the ancient Roman road, called the Ickneild-street, running along its north side, and forming a boundary to the town. A little way to the south of the town are the remains of a Roman and Danish encampment; from this circumstance, and that of its being on a Roman road, it would appear that Baldock has been a place of some note in ancient times. The presetn lord of the manor is Adolphus Meetkerke, Esq.; and his steward is Mr. Samuel Veasey, of this town. Constables and other officers are appointed at the court leet, and the county magistrates hold a petty session on the first Monday monthly. The malting, brewing, and straw-plat trades are the principal branches here: of the first there are some large establishments, and the last furnishes employment to numerous females in the town and neighbourhood. This is, besides, a place of considerable thoroughfare to the north of England, and some good inns here afford requisite accomodation to the posting or commercial traveller. The town is now well lighted with gas, from works erected in 1837. "The church, which is dedicated to St. Mary, and situated in the centre of the town, is a beautiful and spacious structure, adoprned with a handsome tower and spire; and within the church are several monuments, interesting to the curious. The living is a rectory, in the patronage of the crown; the present rector is the Rev. John Smith. There are places of worship for methodists, independents, and the society of friends; and schools, for gratuitous education, under the church and dissenting establishments; also alms-houses, and some minor charities. The day for holding the market has been changed several times: it takes place now on Friday, but is of very trifling importance to trade, except for that in straw-plat. The fairs are - the 7th of March, the last Thursday in May, 5th August, 2nd and 3rd of October, and the 11th of December for horses, cattle, cheese &C. By the government returns for 1831, the parish contained 1,704 inhabitants." [From Royal National and Commercial Directory and Topography of Herts, Pigot & Co., London, 1839]
The Parish Registers for the periods:-
- Baptisms - 1558-1910
- Marriages - 1558-1910
- Burials - 1558-1908
- Bishop's Transcripts - 1604-1872
are deposited at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE. [D/P12]
Entries from the Marriage Registers for the period 1558-1837 are included in The Allen Index at Hertfordshire Record Office.
The period 1538-1837 is covered by the IGI.
Transcripts of the parish registers for the period 1558-1883 are deposited at the Society of Genealogists, 14 Charterhouse Buildings, Goswell Road, LONDON, EC1M 7BA.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Baldock to another place.
You can see the administrative areas in which Baldock has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL247333 (Lat/Lon: 51.984171, -0.185585), Baldock which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)