Hide

Eastwick

hide
Hide
"Eastwick, a small village and parish in the same hundred as Stanstead (Braughin), is three miles from that place on the road to Sawbridgeworth. The neat church here, dedicated to St. Botolph, contains a monument to the memory of a knight templar, which has been frequently noticed by antiquaries. In 1831 the population of the parish was 169 - being a decrease, in ten years, of 43." [From Royal National and Commercial Directory and Topography of Herts, Pigot & Co., London, 1839]
Hide
topup

Church History

There is a picture (31 kbytes) of the parish church of St. Botolph, Eastwick; supplied by Ian Rose.

topup

Church Records

The Parish Registers for the periods:-

  • Baptisms - 1555-1878
  • Marriages - 1556-1977
  • Burials - 1555-1930
  • Bishop's Transcripts - 1800-1866

are deposited at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE. [D/P35]

Entries from the Marriage Registers for the period 1555-1837 are included in The Allen Index at Hertfordshire Record Office.

The period 1555-1879 is covered by the IGI.

Transcripts of the parish registers for the period 1555-1930 are deposited at the Society of Genealogists, 14 Charterhouse Buildings, Goswell Road, LONDON, EC1M 7BA.

topup

Description & Travel

You can see pictures of Eastwick which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Eastwick has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL434117 (Lat/Lon: 51.785589, 0.077565), Eastwick which are provided by: