"About two miles north from Hitchin, in the same hundred as that town (Hitchin and Pirton), is Ickleford, a small village in the parish of its name, the etymology of which is traced from the Ickling or Ichneild street, one of the Roman roads. The church is dedicated to St. Catherine; the principal entrance is by a fine arch, in the Norman style of architecture: the living is a rectory, in the patronage of the Peers family; the present incumbent is the Rev. T. W. Thirlwall. Some degree of interest is attached to this church on account of its being the burial-place of Henry Boswell, king of the gypsies, who died in 1760, at the advanced age of 90; the remains of his wife and grand-daughter are likewise interred here. The parish contained, in 1831, 502 inhabitants." [From Royal National and Commercial Directory and Topography of Herts, Pigot & Co., London, 1839]
The Parish Registers for the periods:-
- Baptisms - 1749-1933
- Marriages - 1749-1988
- Burials - 1749-1877
- Bishop's Transcripts - 1604-1868
are deposited at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE. [D/P58]
Entries from the Marriage Registers for the period 1749-1837 are included in The Allen Index at Hertfordshire Record Office.
The period 1604-1875 is covered by the IGI.
Transcripts of the parish registers for the period 1604-1895 are deposited at the Society of Genealogists, 14 Charterhouse Buildings, Goswell Road, LONDON, EC1M 7BA.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ickleford to another place.
You can see the administrative areas in which Ickleford has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL182316 (Lat/Lon: 51.970313, -0.280773), Ickleford which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)