Tewin

The Parish Registers for the periods:-

• Baptisms - 1550-1926
• Marriages - 1559-1728, 1755-1975
• Burials - 1559-1901
• Bishop's Transcripts - 1604-1869

are deposited at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE. [D/P106]

Entries from the Marriage Registers for the period 1559-1837 are included in The Allen Index at Hertfordshire Record Office.

The period 1559-1875 is covered by the IGI.

Transcripts of the parish registers for the period 1559-1926 are deposited at the Society of Genealogists, 14 Charterhouse Buildings, Goswell Road, LONDON, EC1M 7BA.

"Tewin. In wooded country and gracelessly expanded into a modern dormitory village.

"Alone in fields down a straight tarmac drive from the Georgian Rectory stands the church. Dottings of flint in a crumbly, honey rendering. An interior of cool tones, clean lines, and a certain visual fastidiousness which can irritate. Old stonework (including Norman window surrounds) is picked out from the lime-wash in the same spirit as fanatics expose beams. There are handsome cartouche tablets, a Georgian font, and clear glass of 1741 facing the blues and citric yellows of Patrick Reyntiens. Clanking Georgian clock.

"An international attraction is the churchyard tomb of Anne Grimston (d.1713), who, it is said, declared that an after-life was as likely as a tree sprouting from her grave. She got her tree. A character in Forster's Howards End paid an astonished visit. Limb-like roots have smashed the tomb base and are lifting the tomb itself into the air, while the trunk consumes the original iron railings.

"Queen Hoo Hall is a story-book Elizabethan mayor of burnished crimson and vermilion brick.

"Tewin Water has Repton-influenced grounds down to the Mimram and is early neo-Greek Regency."

[From Hertfordshire (a Shell Guide), R. M. Healey , Faber & Faber, London, 1982]

• Geograph
• Flickr

• Ask for a calculation of the distance from Tewin to another place.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL272147 (Lat/Lon: 51.816462, -0.156058), Tewin which are provided by:

• OpenStreetMap
• Google Maps
• StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
• Bing (was Multimap)
• Old Maps Online
• National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
• Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
• English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
• Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
• GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)

• All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
• Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.