"BRINGTON, a parish in the hundred of Leightonstone, in the county of Huntingdon, 5 miles to the north of Kimbolton. It lies on the confines of Northamptonshire. The living is a rectory* in the diocese of Ely, of the value with the curacies of Bythorn and Old Weston annexed, of £492, in the patronage of the Master and Fellows of Clare Hall, Cambridge. The church is dedicated to All Saints."
by Colin Hinson ©2013
- Monumental Inscriptions from the Parish Churchyard (approximately 64 entries) are available from the Cambridgeshire and Huntingdonshire FHS.
- Census information for this parish (1841 - 1891) is held in the Huntingdon Records Office.
- The full 1841 Census of Brington Parish is available as fiche set C102.
- The full 1851 Census of Brington Parish is available as fiche set C52.
- A surname index of the 1881 Census of the Thrapston Registration District of Northamptonshire, in which Brington was enumerated (RG11/1583, Folios 23b - 26b), and which took place on 3rd April 1881, is available as Fiche C1.
- A full transcription of the 1891 Census of the Huntingdonshire (Miscellaneous Parishes) Registration District (Sub-Districts of Thrapston (NTH), Oundle (NTH), Stamford (LIN) and Caxton (CAM)) in which Brington was enumerated, and which took place on 5th April 1891, available as fiche set C16 .
- The fiche sets mentioned above are available from the Cambridgeshire and Huntingdonshire FHS.
- The church of All Saints consists of a chancel, nave, west tower and south porch. The walls are coursed rubble with stone dressings, but those of the tower are of ashlar. The roofs are covered in tiles and lead.
- The church is not mentioned in the Domesday survey of 1086 but is recorded elsewhere in 1178. The 12th century church evidently consisted of a chancel and an aisle-less nave, the former being rebuilt in the 13th century and the latter about 1330. The western tower and spire were added about 1370, and the porch a few years later. The chancel was again rebuilt and the rood-stairs added about the middle of the 15th century; probably at the same time, the nave walls were heightened and a new roof put on. The nave roof was renewed again in 1674, and some repairs were done to the chancel in the following year.
- The church was restored in 1868 when the chancel was re-roofed with a high-pitched roof and the walls heightened.
- There are photographs and further information on All Saints Church on Rob's Churches website.
- The following are available in the Huntingdon Records Office.
- Baptisms: 1685-1757, 1777-1812, 1813-1994.
- Banns: 1824-1968.
- Marriages: 1687, 1697-1710, 1708-1753, (Registers 1754-1812, and 1813-1837 are missing), 1837-1901, 1901-1986.
- Burials: 1685-1762, 1778-1812, 1813-1988.
- Bishop's Transcripts: 1604-5, 1607-8, 1612, 1617-19, 1626/1680, 1685-7, 1690-1, 1696, 1698-9, 1701-2, 1704, 1706-7, 1709-11, 1715-16, 1718-20, 1722-36, 1738-39, 1741-2, 1755, 1777-8, 1780, 1782-1812/1813, 1815-1825/1825-55, 1858.
- The parish registers for Brington All Saints 1604-1900, are available as fiche set D88.
- The Huntingdonshire Marriage Indexes include marriages from this parish. These are, at present, issued in alphabetical listings in series: 1601-1700, and 1701-1754.
- Both the above mentioned fiche sets are available from the Cambridgeshire and Huntingdonshire FHS.
- Brington was in the Thrapston Registration District of Northamptonshire from 1st July 1837, but it subsequently came under the Raunds sub-District of Thrapston. In 1935, the parish was transferred to the Spaldwick sub-District. It is now part of the Huntingdon Registration District.
- A transcript of the Brington parish entries from 1932 Victoria County Series
- A transcript of the Brington parish entries from Samuel Lewis's 1835 Topographical Dictionary of England,
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Brington to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL084757 (Lat/Lon: 52.368635, -0.409297), Brington which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- Bryningtun (x cent.),
- Breninctune (xi cent.),
- Bryinintone (xiii cent.),
- Brympton (xiii-xv cent.),
- Bringtuna (xiv cent.),
- Brynkton (xiv-xvi cent.),
- Brynton, Brincktone (xvi cent.)
- The parish of Brington was in the Thrapston Union of Northamptonshire for Poor Law administration.