Hide
Ainsworth
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
AINSWORTH, or Cockey, a chapelry in Middleton parish, Lancashire; at Bradley-Fold r. station, 2½ miles E of Bolton. Post Town, Bolton. Acres, 1,296. Real property, £7,048, of which £1,652 are in mines. Pop., 1,803. Houses, 346. Cotton manufacture is carried on. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £136. Patron, the Rector of Middleton. The church is good; and there are two dissenting chapels, a national school, and charities £12.
(John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Hide
Local studies information is held at Bury library.
| Cockey Moor Unitarian, Ainsworth |
Details about the census records, and indexes for Ainsworth.
| Cockey Moor Unitarian, Ainsworth |
The Register Office covering the Ainsworth area is Bury.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"AINSWORTH, (or Cockey), a chapelry in the parish of Middleton, and hundred of Salford, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 2 miles to the S. W. of Bury. Bolton is the post town. The living is a curacy in the diocese of Manchester, value £136, in the patronage of the rector. There is a small endowed school. The cotton manufacture forms the chief occupation of the people.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ainsworth to another place.
In 1835 Ainsworth was a township in the parish of Middleton.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD764097 (Lat/Lon: 53.582924, -2.358069), Ainsworth which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ainsworth was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.