Aldcliffe, township and seat, in par. and 1½ mile SW. of Lancaster, N. Lancashire, on estuary of river Lune, 1016 ac. (337 water), pop. 94.
John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)
Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Aldcliffe.
The Register Office covering the Aldcliffe area is Lancaster.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Aldcliffe to another place.
"ALDCLIFFE, a township in the parish of Lancaster, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 1 mile to the S.W. of Lancaster. It is on the Preston canal and the river Lune. Aldcliffe Hall is the principal seat."
In 1835 Aldcliffe was a township in the parish of Lancaster.
You can see the administrative areas in which Aldcliffe has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Aldcliffe and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD459601 (Lat/Lon: 54.034233, -2.827188), Aldcliffe which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)