ALTCAR, a parish in Ormskirk district, Lancashire; on the river Alt, 3 miles SE of Formby r. station, and 6 WSW of Ormskirk. It includes the hamlet of Little Altcar. Post Town, Formby under Liverpool. Acres, 4,284; of which 205 are water. Real property, £5,988. Pop., 540. Houses, 82. The property is divided among a few. The surface includes some marsh. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Chester. Value, £150. * Patron, the Earl of Sefton. The church is very good. Charities, £7.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Ormskirk library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Altcar.
The Register Office covering the Altcar area is West Lancashire
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Altcar to another place.
"ALTCAR, a parish in the hundred of West Derby, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 6 miles to the S.W. of Ormskirk. It is a station on the Liverpool and Southport branch of the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway. The river Alt passes through it. The hamlet of Little Altcar is included in this parish. The living is a curacy in the diocese of Chester, value £150, in the patronage of the Earl of Sefton. The church is dedicated to St. Michael. There is a school, with a small endowment."
You can see the administrative areas in which Altcar has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Altcar and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD321052 (Lat/Lon: 53.539258, -3.025634), Altcar which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)