Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Ashton under Lyne Census

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Ashton under Lyne Census

The census records that have been made available for Ashton under Lyne are:

 

Year PRO piece LDS film Indexes, transcripts etc.
1841 HO107/532-3   Antony Lambert has transcribed the Hurst district.
1851 HO107/2232-4, 2238   Surname indexes, Vol 18 for Ashton, Vol 13 for Audenshaw, have been produced by the Manchester & Lancashire FHS.

Sections of the Ashton 1851 census are water damaged and have never been filmed, but the Manchester & Lancashire FHS have transcribed a considerable portion of this from the original records at the National Archives The transcripts are available from the society as 1383 Ashton-under-Lyne (supplement to vol 18) HO 107/2233 32 fiche.

1861 RG9/2977-87, 2999-3002    
1871 RG10/4068-76, 4086-9   Antony Lambert has transcribed some enumeration districts from the 1871 census.
1881 RG11/4034-42, 4056-9   Indexes, and transcriptions can be found in the Lancashire section of the fiche produced by the 1881 census project and on the CD available from the The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
1891 RG12/3273-82, 3294-6 6098383-92, 6098404-6  
1901     Can be searched online at the National Archives

N.B. Please remember that all transcripts and indexes are subject to error or mistakes. They are compiled from film copies of handwritten documents that in some cases are very hard to read. So use them as finding aids, and always check with the original documents, even for the 1881 census on CD.

The only census which can be easily searched is that for 1881. All the rest require searching page by page of handwritten information. The effort required is considerably reduced if a surname or street index exists, but it is still not a trivial task. Please bear this in mind before requesting lookups via e-mail lists or newsgroups.

If you want to look at the census then try the following places:

  • The Local Studies library for this area will normally hold a copy for the local area.
  • The National Archives in London, holds copies of all the released census for England and Wales.
  • LDS Family History Centres around the world can order the census for you to research there.

If you want to purchase your own copy of the census film/fiche, then you obtain a copy from the National Archives/Public Record Office.

If you know of the existence of any other indexes or transcripts, then let us know and we can add their location to this page.