ASPULL, a township and a subdistrict in Wigan district, Lancashire. The township is in Wigan-parish, 3 miles NE of Wigan; and has a post office, of the name of Aspull-Moor, under Wigan. Acres, 1,879. Real property, £27,184; of which £19,863 are in mines. Pop., 4,290. Houses, 783. The inhabitants are employed chiefly in collieries and cotton mills. There are a school-church, Independent, Wesleyan, and Roman Catholic chapels, and four public schools. The subdistrict comprises three townships. Pop., 8,372. Houses, 1,534.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Wigan library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Aspull.
|St Elizabeth of Hungary, Aspull, Church of England|
|St John the Baptist, New Springs, Church of England|
|St Margaret, Pennington Green, Church of England|
|Aspull, Independent Methodist|
|Cale Lane, New Springs, Wesleyan Methodist|
|Harold St, Aspull, Primitive Methodist|
|Wigan Rd, Aspull Common, Wesleyan Methodist|
|Wigan Rd, New Springs, Primitive Methodist|
|Holy Family, New Springs, Roman Catholic|
The Register Office covering the Aspull area is Wigan & Leigh.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Aspull to another place.
"ASPULL, a township in the parish of Wigan, hundred of Salford, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 3 miles to the N.E. of Wigan. The population are employed in the cotton manufactories and the collieries. There is a small educational endowment."
In 1835 Aspull was a township in the parish of Wigan.
You can see the administrative areas in which Aspull has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
A description of Aspull in the 19th century.
View maps of Aspull and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD614075 (Lat/Lon: 53.562937, -2.583981), Aspull which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)