Bacup, mun. bor., Rochdale and Whalley pars., Lancashire, 19¼ miles N. of Manchester by rail, 6400 ac., pop. 25,034; 1 Bank, 2 newspapers. Market, daily. The staple industries are cotton spinning and power-room weaving. In the neighbourhood are numerous coal-pits and vast stonequarries. Bacup was incorporated in 1882.
John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)
St James' Square,
Tel: 01706 873324
Details about the census records, and indexes for Bacup.
|Christ Church, Bacup, Church of England|
|Holy Trinity, Tunstead, Church of England|
|St John the Evangelist, Bacup, Church of England|
|St Saviour Church of England, Bacup|
|Ebenezer Particular Baptist, Bacup|
|Ebenezer, Weir, Particular Baptist|
|Irwell Terrace, Baptist, Bacup|
|Providence Particular Baptist, Bacup|
|Trinity Baptist, Bacup|
|South St, Bacup, Congregational|
|Brunswick Terrace Cemetery, Bacup|
|St Mary, Bacup, Roman Catholic|
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Bacup to another place.
"BACUP, a chapelry in the parish of Whalley, higher division of Blackburn hundred in the county palatine of Lancaster, 6 miles to the N. of Rochdale. Manchester is its post town. It is connected with the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway by a short branch line from Ramsbottom Junction. The population are employed in the cotton and baize manufactures. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Manchester, value £250, in the patronage of Hulme's Trustees. There is also a district church called Christ Church, the living of which is a perpetual curacy, value £100, in the patronage of the Rev. J. Heyworth."
You can see the administrative areas in which Bacup has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD871240 (Lat/Lon: 53.711829, -2.196595), Bacup which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)