BALDERSTON, a township-chapelry in Blackburn parish, Lancashire; near the river Ribble, 5 miles NW of Blackburn r. station. Post Town, Mellor-Brook under Blackburn. Acres, 1,710. Real property, £2,593 Pop., 532. Houses, 105. The property is much sub divided. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £160.* Patron, the Vicar of Blackburn. The church is very good. Charities, £11.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Clitheroe library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Balderstone.
The Register Office covering the Balderstone area is Preston and South Ribble
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Balderstone to another place.
"BALDERSTONE, a chapelry in the parish of Blackburn, lower division of the hundred of Blackburn, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 6 miles to the N.E. of Preston, its post town. It is situated on the river Ribble. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Manchester, of the value of £90, in the patronage of the Vicar of Blackburn. The parochial charities amount to £11 per annum."
In 1835 Balderstone was a chapelry and township in the parish of Blackburn.
You can see the administrative areas in which Balderstone has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Balderstone and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD626326 (Lat/Lon: 53.788383, -2.568821), Balderstone which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)