Hide
Bilsborrow
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
BILSBORROW, a township in Garstang parish, Lancashire; 4½ miles SE of Garstang. Acres, 842. Real property, £1,455. Pop., 176. Houses, 37. There are a Wesleyan chapel, and an endowed school with £48 a year.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Hide
Details about the census records, and indexes for Bilsborrow.
The Register Office covering the Bilsborrow area is Lancaster.
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"BILLISBORROW, (or Bilsborough), a township in the parish of Garstang, hundred of Amounderness, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 4 miles to the S.E. of Garstang. The Wesleyans have a chapel here, and there is a free school founded by John Cross in 1718, which has an income from endowment of £48 per annum.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Bilsborrow to another place.
In 1835 Bilsborrow was a township in the parish of Garstang.
View maps of Bilsborrow and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD524406 (Lat/Lon: 53.859321, -2.724802), Bilsborrow which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Bilsborrow was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
- Lancashire Family History & Heraldry Society - Fylde Branch
- Lancashire Family History & Heraldry Society - Preston Branch
- Lancashire Parish Register Society
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.