BLACKLEY, a village, two chapelries, and a subdistrict, in Manchester parish and district, Lancashire. The village stands on the river Irk, near the Manchester and Leeds railway, 3 miles N of Manchester; and has a post office under Manchester, and a police station. The chapelries are B. and B.-St. Andrew. Acres, 1,764. Real property, £10,955. Pop., 4,112. Houses, 838. The property is subdivided. Many of the inhabitants are employed in cotton manufactures and in extensive dye-works. The livings are rectories. Value of B., £182.* B. church was rebuilt in 1835; and is in the early English style, with a fine tower. St. A. church was built in 1866. There are two Wesleyan chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel, a mechanics' institution, a Church institute, public schools, and a reformatory. The subdistrict includes also Harpurhey township.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Manchester central library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Blackley.
|Most Holy Trinity, Blackley, Church of England|
|St Andrew, Higher Blackley, Church of England|
|St Mark, Blackley, Church of England|
|St Paul, Blackley, Church of England|
|St Peter, Blackley, Church of England|
|Chapel Lane, Blackley, Presbyterian|
|Booth Hall Chapel, Blackley, Roman Catholic|
|Our Lady of Mount Carmel, Blackley, Roman Catholic|
|St Clare, Higher Blackley, Roman Catholic|
|St John Bosco, Blackley, Roman Catholic|
The Register Office covering the Blackley area is Manchester.
David Johnson provides Sketches of Blackley and District which were drawn by George Chandler Perkins in the 19th century.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Blackley to another place.
"BLACKLEY, (or Blakeley), a chapelry in the parish of Manchester, hundred of Salford, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 3 miles to the N. of Manchester, its post town. The workpeople are principally employed in the various branches of the cotton manufacture. The living is a rectory A in the diocese of Manchester, of the value of £150, in the patronage of the Dean and Chapter of Manchester. The church, which was anciently a private chapel belonging to Blackley Hall, is dedicated to St. Peter. The Wesleyans and Unitarians have chapels in the town, and there is a school with a small endowment. Annual races take place here in the month of August.
In 1835 Blackley was a township in the parish of Manchester.
You can see the administrative areas in which Blackley has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Blackley and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD857036 (Lat/Lon: 53.528546, -2.21728), Blackley which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)