Layton with Warbreck
Layton with Warbreck has now been swallowed up by Blackpool, which grew into a large town by the end of the 19th century.
LAYTON-WITH-WARBRECK, a township in Bispham parish, Lancashire; on the coast and on the Blackpool railway, 2½ miles SW of Poulton-le-Fylde. It contains the town of Blackpool. Acres, 3,241; of which 840 are water. Real property, £17,246; of which £150 are in gas works. Pop. in 1851, 2,564; in 1861, 3,907. Houses, 761. The manor belongs to J. T. Clifton, Esq. Knowle is the seat of Lord Edward F. Howard.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Blackpool library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Layton with Warbreck.
The Register Office covering the Layton with Warbreck area is Blackpool & Fylde.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Layton with Warbreck to another place.
"LAYTON-WITH-WARBRICK, a township in the parish of Bispham, county Lancaster, 2 miles S.W. of Poulton-le-Fylde. It is situated near the coast, and contains the village of Blackpool, which is much resorted to in the season as a bathing-place. Two schools are supported by subscription."
"LEYTON, a township in the parish of Bispham, hundred of Amounderness, county Lancaster, 2 miles S.W. of Poulton-le-Fylde. It is situated near the coast, and contains the village of Blackpool, which is resorted to in the summer as a bathing place."
"WARBRICK, a township in the parish of Bispham, hundred of Amounderness, county Lancaster, 2½ miles S.W. of Poulton-le-Fylde. It is situated on the coast, and includes the village of Blackpool. It is joined with Layton."
You can see the administrative areas in which Layton with Warbreck has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Layton and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD318356 (Lat/Lon: 53.81206, -3.03713), Layton with Warbreck which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)