"BOOTLE-CUM-LINACRE, a township and three chapelries in Walton-on-the-Hill parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the Mersey, the Liverpool and Southport railway, and the L. and Leeds canal, 3¼ miles N by W of Liverpool; was, till lately, a much-frequented watering-place, but is now occupied, on all its river front, by Liverpool docks; and has a post office under Liverpool, and four railway stations. Acres, 1,781; of which 610 are water. Real property in 1860, £25,158. Pop. in 1861, 6,414. Houses, 1,048. Pop. in 1869, about 15,200. The chapelries are St. Mary, St. John, and Christchurch; the two former p. curacies, the latter a vicarage, in the diocese of Chester. Value of St. M., £300; of C., £300.* Patron of St. M., W. S. Millar, Esq.; of St. J. and C., Trustees. St. M. 's church was built in 1826; St. J. 's in 1864, at a cost of £5,000; church, in 1866, at a cost of £8,800; and all are handsome. A Wesleyan chapel, in French first-pointed style, was built in 1864. A Roman Catholic chapel was built in 1868. There are also United Presbyterian, Baptist, and Welsh Methodist chapels, a national school, and a Christian Association's reading and lecture rooms."
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Details about the census records, and indexes for Bootle.
The Register Office covering the Sefton area is Sefton South.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Bootle to another place.
"BOOTLE-CUM-LINACRE, a township in the parish of Walton-on-the-Hill, hundred of West Derby, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 3 miles to N. of Liverpool. It is a station on the Southport branch of the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway. The village is pleasantly situated on the sea-coast, and was till recently much frequented as a watering-place. The Liverpool North Docks now extend into Bootle, and occupy a great portion of the shore formerly frequented by bathers. Seaforth, Waterloo, and Crosby, higher up the coast, are consequently much benefited by the influx of visitors. Linacre is a hamlet included in this township The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Chester, of the value of £164, in the patronage of W. S. Miller, Esq. The church is dedicated to St. Mary."
"LINACRE, a township in the parish of Walton-on-the-Hill, hundred of West Derby, county Lancaster, 4 miles N. W. of Liverpool."
In 1835 Bootle was a township in the parish of Walton on the Hill.
You can see the administrative areas in which Bootle has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Bootle and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ335953 (Lat/Lon: 53.450194, -3.002743), Bootle which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)