BORWICK, a township, with a r. station, in Warton parish, Lancashire; on the Furness and Midland railway, near the Northwestern, 3 miles NNE of Carnforth. Acres, 836. Real property, £1,765. Pop., 194. Houses, 35. Borwick Hall, the seat of the Standishes, gave lodging to Charles II. on his way to Worcester.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Borwick.
The Register Office covering the Borwick area is Lancaster.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Borwick to another place.
"BORWICK, a township in the parish of Warton, and hundred of Lonsdale South of the Sands, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 7 miles to the N. of Lancaster. The Lancaster and Carlisle railway runs near the village, which is not far from the coast of Morecambe Bay. The chief residence is Borwick Hall, the seat of the Standish family. Charles II. was entertained here on his way from the north to Worcester, the army encamping in the neighbourhood."
In 1835 Borwick was a township in the parish of Warton.
You can see the administrative areas in which Borwick has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Borwick and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD536727 (Lat/Lon: 54.148221, -2.711493), Borwick which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)