"BRADFORD, a township and a chapelry in Manchester parish, Lancashire. The township lies adjacent to the Manchester and Sheffield railway, 4 miles E of Manchester; and has a post office under Manchester. Acres, 279. Pop., 3,523. Houses, 707. The chapelry extends into Beswick township; bears the name of Bradford-cum-Beswick; and was constituted very recently. The statistics are not reported. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester, with a parsonage, and in the patronage of the Bishop. The church was built in 1862, at a cost of £6,000; and is in the early English style, and cruciform. There are Wesleyan and Free Methodist chapels, large schools built in 1864, at a cost of £3,000, and a police station."
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Manchester Central library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Bradford.
|Ebenezer Chapel, Bradford, Independent|
|Mill St, Bradford, Unitarian|
|St Brigid, Bradford, Roman Catholic|
The Register Office covering the Bradford area is Manchester.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Bradford to another place.
"BRADFORD, a township in the parish and borough of Manchester, hundred of Salford, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 1 mile to the E. of Manchester."
"BRADFORD ROAD, a district parish in the city of Manchester, and county palatine of Lancaster, close to Manchester. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester, value £150, in the patronage of trustees. The church has been recently erected."
In 1835 Bradford was a township in the parish of Manchester.
You can see the administrative areas in which Bradford has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Bradford and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ870984 (Lat/Lon: 53.482264, -2.196611), Bradford which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)