BRADSHAW, a township and a chapelry in Bolton-le-Moors parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the Bolton and Blackburn railway, adjacent to the Oaks station, 3 miles NE of Bolton; and has a post office under Bolton. Acres, 1,380. Real property, £3,754. Pop., 792. Houses, 146. Bradshaw Hall was the seat of John Bradshaw, who presided at the trial of Charles I.; and is now the seat of T. Hardcastle, Esq. There are two cotton mills, a bleaching mill, and quarries. The church. is more extensive than the township, and was constituted in 1853. Pop., 1,968. Houses, 378. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £150.* Patron, the Vicar of Bolton. The church is tolerable.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Bolton library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Bradshaw.
The Register Office covering the Bradshaw area is Bolton.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Bradshaw to another place.
"BRADSHAW, a chapelry in the parish of Bolton-le-Moors, hundred of Salford, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 3 miles to the N.E. of Bolton. The Lancashire and Yorkshire railway runs near it. In the chapelry are several large bleach-grounds. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Manchester, value £150, in the patronage of the Vicar of Bolton. Bradshaw Hall is the old seat of a branch of the Bradshaw family related to John Bradshaw, president of the court before which Charles I. was tried."
In 1835 Bradshaw was a township in the parish of Bolton.
You can see the administrative areas in which Bradshaw has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD746139 (Lat/Lon: 53.620845, -2.384773), Bradshaw which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)