BRETHERTON, a township-chapelry in Croston parish, Lancashire; on the Douglas river, 1 mile E of Croston r. station, and 9 SSW of Preston. It has a post office under Chorley. Acres, 2,405. Real property, £4,485. Pop., 775. Houses, 149. The property is not much divided. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £150.* Patron, the Rector of Croston. The church is a recent structure, in the early English style. There are an Independent chapel, a Wesleyan chapel, and an endowed school; the last founded in 1654, and having £112 a year.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Chorley library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Bretherton.
|Ebenezer Independent, Bretherton|
The Register Office covering the Bretherton area is Chorley.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Bretherton to another place.
"BRETHERTON, formerly a township in the parish of Croston, but now a parish of itself, in the hundred of Leyland, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 7 miles to the W. of Chorley. It is seated on the banks of the river Douglas, near the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, which has a station at Croston. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Manchester, of the value of £150, in the patronage of the Rector of Croston. The church is a new building in the early English style, dedicated to St. John the Baptist. There are chapels belonging to the Wesleyan Methodists and Independents."
In 1835 Bretherton was a township in the parish of Croston.
You can see the administrative areas in which Bretherton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Bretherton and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD482201 (Lat/Lon: 53.675036, -2.786203), Bretherton which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)