Hide
Broughton (Preston)
hide
Hide
This is the Broughton which is just north of Preston. There are other places also called Broughton in Lancashire.
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
BROUGHTON, a township-chapelry and a subdistrict, in Preston district, Lancashire. The chapelry is in Preston parish, adjacent to the Preston and Lancaster railway, 3 miles N by W of Preston; and has a station on the railway, jointly with Barton, a post office under Preston, and a fair on 1 Aug. Acres, 2,346. Real property, £6,862. Pop., 709. Houses, 126. The property is much subdivided. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £106.* Patron, A. Sedgwick, Esq. The church is good; and there are a Roman Catholic chapel, an endowed school with £110 a year, and charities £15. The subdistrict contains eight townships. Pop., 7,850.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Hide
Local studies information is held at Preston library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Broughton.
The Register Office covering the Broughton area is Preston and South Ribble
The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868
"BROUGHTON, a chapelry in the parish of Preston, hundred of Amounderness, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 4 miles to the N. of Preston. It is a station on the Lancaster and Preston Junction railway. Dorton is a hamlet of this parish. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Manchester, value £106, in the patronage of Hulme's Trustees. Here is an endowed free school with a revenue of £130 per annum, the produce of several ancient bequests, and some minor charities worth about £14 a year."
"DORTON, a hamlet in the chapelry of Broughton, parish of Preston, in the county of Lancaster, 3 miles N. of Preston."
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Broughton (Preston) to another place.
In 1835 Broughton was a township in the parish of Preston.
View maps of Broughton and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD534337 (Lat/Lon: 53.797684, -2.708929), Broughton (Preston) which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Broughton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.