Broughton in Furness
There are other places also called Broughton in Lancashire.
BROUGHTON-IN-FURNESS, or West Broughton, a small town, a township-chapelry, and a subdistrict in the district of Ulverstone, Lancashire. The town stands on the river Duddon, adjacent to the Furness railway, at the junction of the branch line to Coniston, 9 miles, by road, NW by N of Ulverstone. It occupies a hill slope; is edificed with stone houses, nearly in a regular square; and has, of late years, undergone great improvement. It has a post office under Ulverstone, a railway station with telegraph, two chief inns, and a grammar school. A weekly market is held on Wednesday; and fairs on 27 April, 1 Aug., and 6 Oct. A manufacture of woollen yarn used to be carried on; and an export trade in roofing slates and in iron and copper ores, from neighbouring mines, is now considerable. The chapelry includes the town; is in Kirkby-Ireleth parish; and comprises 7,040 acres. Real property, £6,677. Pop., 1,183. Houses, 239. The property is much subdivided. The manor belonged for several centuries to the Broughton family; and was forfeited, in 1487, by Sir Thomas Broughton, who joined Lambert Simnel, and fell in the battle of Stoke. Broughton tower, now the seat of J. D. Sawrey, Esq., crowns an eminence about a mile N of the town; includes part of the ancient mansion of the Broughtons; and commands a brilliant and extensive view. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, £108.* Patron, J. D. Sawrey, Esq. The church is tolerable; and there are two dissenting chapels. Charities, £15. The subdistrict consists of Kirkby-Ireleth parish and an extra-parochial tract.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local Studies information is held at
Cumbria Record Office and Local Studies Library,
140 Duke Street,
The following books contain useful information about the history of Broughton-in-Furness and the surrounding area.
- 'Broughton in Furness, its church and manor' by HV Koop, 1954. Republished 1975 by Michael moon ISBN 090431 08 4.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Broughton-in-Furness.
The Register Office covering the Broughton in Furness area is Ulverston.
Residents in 1882 found in Mannex's directory of Furness and Cartmel.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Broughton in Furness to another place.
"BROUGHTON-IN-FURNESS, (or West Broughton), a chapelry and market town, in the parish of Kirkby Ireleth, hundred of Lonsdale North of the Sands, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 9 miles to the N. of Ulverston, and 280 miles from London. It is a station on the Furness and Coniston railway. The town lies in a mountainous country on the banks of the river Duddon. Iron and copper are abundant, and large quantities of slate are quarried and exported. Hoop-bending is an important branch of the local industry. Many of the inhabitants are employed in the neighbouring mines. The town stands on a hill-side facing the south, and contains some good houses built of stone and roofed with slate. Small vessels can approach within a mile of the town, the estuary being navigable to Duddon Bridge. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Chester, value £108, in the patronage of B. Sawrey, Esq. The church is dedicated to St. Mary Magdalene. There is a small grammar school endowed with £6 a year, and some other charities worth about £10. On a hill to the N. of the town is Broughton Tower, the seat of the Sawreys. Friday is the market day. Fairs are held on the 27th April and on the first Friday in October for the sale of cattle and for hiring farm servants, and on the 1st August for cattle.
"MOSSHOUSES-WITH-WAITHAM, an extra parochial place in the hundred of Lonsdale North of the Sands, county Lancaster, near Broughton."
In 1835 Broughton in Furness was a chapelry and a township in the parish of Kirkby Ireleth.
You can see the administrative areas in which Broughton in Furness has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
The history of Broughton in Furness as described in Mannex's directory of Furness and Cartmel, 1882.
View maps of Broughton in Furness and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD230899 (Lat/Lon: 54.298757, -3.18529), Broughton in Furness which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Broughton in Furness was in the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York, whose records are deposited at the Borthwick Institute. A list of the probate records at York which relate specifically to the ancient parish of Kirkby Ireleth (including Broughton-in-Furness and Seathwaite) is available at Cumbria Record Office, Barrow.