This is the Broughton which in Salford. There are other places also called Broughton in Lancashire.
"BROUGHTON, a township-chapelry and a subdistrict, in Salford district, Lancashire; on the river Irwell, near the Bolton railway, in the parish and within the borough of Manchester. It includes a suburb of Manchester, called Higher Broughton and Lower Broughton, communicating with Salford by Broughton bridge; includes also the village of Kersall; and has a post office, of the name of Broughton-Road, under Manchester. Acres, 960. Real property, £66,430. Pop., 9,885. Houses, 1,789. Broughton Hall belonged formerly to the Chethams and the Stanleys; was partly burnt in 1847; and belongs now to Col. Clowes. Higher Broughton and Lower Broughton contain several streets, straight, airy, and crossing one another at right angles; and the two are conjoint. The chapelry was constituted in 1840. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £400.* Patrons, Trustees. There are six dissenting chapels; one of them built in 1869, at a cost of £6,000. The subdistrict is conterminate with the chapelry."
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Salford library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Broughton.
The Register Office covering the Broughton area is Salford.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Broughton (Salford) to another place.
"BROUGHTON, a township in the parish and borough of Manchester, hundred of Salford, in the county palatine of Lancaster, 1 mile to the N. of Manchester. It is pleasantly situated on elevated ground, and includes the village of Kersall. There are many good houses and pleasant residences. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester, in the patronage of trustees. Broughton Hall, an old seat of the Chetham and Stanley families, is the residence of Colonel Clowes."
"KERSALL, a hamlet in the parish of Manchester, county Lancaster 3 miles N.W. of Manchester."
In 1835 Broughton was a township in the parish of Manchester.
You can see the administrative areas in which Broughton (Salford) has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Broughton and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD823005 (Lat/Lon: 53.500871, -2.267904), Broughton (Salford) which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)