CHATBURN, a township and a chapelry in Whalley parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the verge of the county, on the river Ribble, at the terminus of the Blackburn and Clitheroe railway, 2½ miles NE of Clitheroe. Acres, 720. Pop., 521. Houses, 111. The chapelry includes also the township of Worston; and its post town is Clitheroe, under Blackburn. Acres, 1,580. Rated property, £2,425. Pop., 605. Houses, 132. The property is divided among a few. Cotton manufacture and lime-burning are carried on. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £165. Patrons, Hulme's Trustees. The church was struck by lightning in 1854; and the steeple of it had to be taken down and rebuilt.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at Clitheroe library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Chatburn.
The Register Office covering the Chatburn area is Ribble Valley.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Chatburn to another place.
"CHATBURN, a township and chapelry in the parish of Whalley, in the higher division of the hundred of Blackburn, in the county of Lancaster, 2 miles E. of Clitheroe. It is a station on the western division of the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway. The township, which is united with that of Worston, is watered by the river Ribble. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Manchester, value £165, in the patronage of Hulme's Trustees. The church, dedicated to Christ, is a stone edifice in the Romanesque style of architecture. Here are National schools for both sexes. There are extensive lime-works in the vicinity. The Duke of Buccleuch is lord of the manor:"
In 1835 Chatburn was a township in the Parish of Whalley.
You can see the administrative areas in which Chatburn has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
View maps of Chatburn and places within its boundaries.
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD770443 (Lat/Lon: 53.89469, -2.352211), Chatburn which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)